North Adelaide

North Adelaide is a predominantly residential precinct and suburb of the City of Adelaide in South Australia, situated north of the River Torrens and within the Adelaide Park Lands. Surveyor-General Colonel William Light of the colony of South Australia completed the survey for the capital city of Adelaide by 10 March 1837. The survey included 1042 acres, including 342 acres north of the River Torrens. This surveyed land north of the river became North Adelaide.

North Adelaide consists of three grids of varying dimension to suit the geography. North Adelaide is surrounded by parklands, with public gardens between the grids. The North Adelaide Parklands (the Adelaide Parklands north of the River Torrens) contain gardens, many sports fields (including the Adelaide Oval), a golf course, horse agistment paddocks and some areas sympathetic with the native environment.

Many of the North Adelaide pubs and hotels are heritage-listed. There are fourteen in total: eight in Upper North Adelaide, four in Lower North Adelaide, and two in the Cathedral grid. Six of the Upper North Adelaide pubs are on O'Connell Street: the Caledonian, the Royal Oak, The O Hotel, the Cambridge, the Oxford and The Archer. The Daniel O'Connell (formerly the North Adelaide Hotel) is on Tynte Street, and the Wellington Hotel is located at the eastern side of Wellington Square. The Dover Castle is heritage listed but is no longer a hotel, having been turned into apartments. Lower North Adelaide contains the Kentish Arms, The Lion hotel (formerly a brewery), the Lord Melbourne, and the British (Adelaide's second oldest public house).

North Adelaide's O'Connell Street and Melbourne Street are also very popular for its many well known restaurants such as Fellini, cafe Paesano, Scuzzi, Palazzo, 24-hour bakery, Zappatas and Montezumas.

Many residential colleges affiliated with the University of Adelaide are in North Adelaide, including Aquinas College, Lincoln College, St. Ann's College, St. Mark's College, Kathleen Lumley College (Postgraduate) and Australian Lutheran College, the Lutheran tertiary institution and seminary. Queen's College North Adelaide was the longest lasting proprietary boys' college in Australia, closing in 1946.

North Adelaide was the birthplace of William Lawrence Bragg, co-recipient of the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1915.

Montefiore Hill
Montefiore Hill provides an excellent vantage point to look over the City of Adelaide. Near its apex, in a small park, is a Statue of Colonel William Light, the first surveyor-general of South Australia, who designed Adelaide as a square mile of north, south, east-west streets including a central park and surrounded by parklands.

His design is recognised as one of the most practical and beautiful in the world and the spot from where you can view this panorama and observe his statue with outstretched arm is known as Light's Vision, a reference to the layout and development programme Light had for the city. Notable aspects of Light's plan are that the city centre is laid out in a grid-like pattern, with squares in the centre of the city and in the centres of the four quarters of the city, and the city is surrounded by Parklands.

Legend has it that William Light stood on Montefiore Hill in 1837, pointed at what would one day become the Adelaide city centre, and began planning the city. This moment is commemorated by a statue by Glaswegian sculptor Birnie Rhind on Montefiore Hill (moved from its original Victoria Square position in 1938), pointing at the City of Adelaide below. With the passage of time, both the commemorative statue and the piece of land on which it stands have also come to be referred to as "Light's Vision", rather than "Light's Vision commemoration".
Location: Cnr Ward St and Montefiore Rd, North Adelaide.

Montefiore Hill is named for Jacob Montefiore, the last survivor of the ten Commissioners for SA of 1835, was born in Jamaica where his father was a merchant and sugar planter. He was an investor in the Swan River settlement (Perth) in Western Australia in 1829 and had other business interests in Australia. As mentioned above, Montefiore and Palmer assisted Colonel Light in preparing the ships Rapid and Cygnet for the maritime survey of South Australia in 1836. He visited Adelaide in 1843 where his brother had a business. Montefiore continued to promote South Australia throughout the rest of his life and to highlight the efforts of his friend Colonel Light. He died in London in 1895.

Folks on the Hill Heritage Walk
Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours: This walk features Light's Vision and the localities of Montefiore Hill, Brougham Place and Palmer Place, well known for their large mansions including Christ Church and Bishop's Court, which date from the early 1850s. A highlight of this walk is the glorious views offered of the city, its encircling Park Lands and the Adelaide Hills. Brochures are available from the Adelaide City Council Customer Centre, 25 Pirie Street, Adelaide.

Marvellous Mansions Cottages and Castles Heritage Walk
Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours. Fringing on the greens of the North Adelaide Golf Links, this walk features villas and semi-detached houses built during the boom period of the 1880s. Brochures are available from the Adelaide City Council Customer Centre, 25 Pirie Street, Adelaide.

The Bradman Collection Museum
The Bradman Collection Museum displays memorabillia of the legendary cricketer, Sir Donald Bradman. A large amount of cricket memorabilia donated by Sir Donald Bradman - he played for South Australia - is displayed at the museum, forming a unique record of the life and times of the world's greatest cricketer. The collection includes trophies, souvenirs, balls, stumps, silk score cards, blazers, photographs, paintings and posters relating both to Bradman and the game of cricket. Free admission.
Contact: (08) 8300 3800. Location: King William Rd, North Adelaide. How to get there: walk north across King William Bridge, Adelaide Oval will be visible on the left.

Adelaide Oval

Adelaide Oval
Adelaide Oval is widely regarded as the most picturesque Test cricket ground in the world, with St Peter's Cathedral rising behind an elegant Edwardian scoreboard and Moreton Bay fig trees at the northern end. The ground was established following the formation of the South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) in 1871. The first of the surviving grandstands was the member's pavilion erected in 1882 and subsequently named the George Giffen Stand. The mounds at the northern and southern ends of the ground were created in 1898 when earth was carted from the banks of the River Torrens.

The first Test match was played in December 1884 and the record crowd for cricket is 50,962 during the Saturday of the Bodyline Test in January 1933. The highest attendance for any sport, however, belongs to football with 62,543 people attending the 1965 grand final between Port Adelaide and Sturt. The last football grand final at the Adelaide Oval was in 1973 and the largest crowd since then was the rock concert by Elton John and Billy Joel in 1998 which drew 37,000 patrons.

Take a tour of Adelaide Oval and go behind closed doors where you'll discover hidden secrets and relive celebrated moments. Witness the unique integration of the Oval's iconic heritage blended seemlessly with world-class facilities. Access restricted areas and experience the roar of the crowd as you take to the ground through the interactive player's race. Step into living history as you explore inside the iconic scoreboard, and see where some of the world's greatest musicians have entertained sold-out crowds.

Adelaide Oval Tours are led by our expert volunteer guides who share their unique and captivating tales - there's always a new experience waiting to be had. Entry fees apply. Ph (08) 8205 4700.
Tour departure times - Monday to Friday: 10am, 11am and 2pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10am, 11am, 1pm and 2pm

Contact: (08) 8300 3800. Location: King William Rd, North Adelaide. How to get there: walk north across King William Bridge, Adelaide Oval will be visible on the left.

Carclew House

Carclew House
1897 - With a superb hilltop situation and built as a large, and conspicuous mansion, Carclew House was built for tobacco manufacturer, Hugh R. Dixson, in 1901 to a design by J.Q. Bruce. The mansion was originally named Stalheim. When Sir John L. Bonython (one time owner of The Advertiser newspaper) and his family lived here between 1908-1965, they re-named it Carclew. It is now the Carclew Youth Performing Arts Centre.
Location: Carclew House, 11-20 Montefiore Rd, North Adelaide.

Adelaide Gaol
One South Australia's oldest buildings, Adelaide Gaol is now a museum telling of its history. The displays inside this historical landmark include an array of artefacts dating back to the gaol's early years. Self-guided, guided and group tours give an insight into the life and routine of prisoners kept within its walls from 1841 to 1988, when it was a working gaol. A Ghost Tour by torchlight or lamplight gives insight into the numerous sightings of ghostly figures and movements around the gaol. Facilities conference/convention rooms, shaded picnic areas with barbecues.

Contact: (08) 8231 4062. Website. Location: 18 Gaol Road, Thebarton. Entry fees apply.
How to get there: a short walk from the city centre west along North Tce and Port Rd, there is a frequent bus service from the city to the Gaol Road/Port Road intersection, however, from there it is a short walk from Bus Stop 1 to the Gaol.

Hindmarsh Historical Fire And Folk Museum
Hindmarsh Historical Fire And Folk Museum was one of the first Historical Societies in the state, its aim was to preserve memorabilia from the Hindmarsh area for future generations to see and enjoy. The Museum houses an extensive collection of memorabilia from the Brigade forms the basis of its collection.
Location: former volunteer Fire Brigade Building, 2 Hindmarsh Place, Hindmarsh. Contact: (08) 8296 1265.