About 13 kilometres south of Noosa Heads within the Sunshine Coast
Region, Peregian Beach is one of a string of lovely beaches between
Noosa and Coolum. Peregian Beach comprises continual residential
development along the eastern coastal strip of sandy beaches.
There is a village style shopping precinct and a Surf Club, Bowls
Club, and recently built Hotel. The local skate park is popular amongst
skaters in the region, but can be prone to short periods of flash
flooding in the wet season.
Events: Peregian Originals is a popular community event held on the
2nd Sunday of each month in the park beside the Surf Club showcasing
original live music. Peregian Markets is a popular community event held
on the 1st and 3rd Sunday of each month in the park on the beachside of
the Surf Club which helps raise money for the local club.
Just over the sand hills at the southern end of the beach is
Peregian Environmental Park, an area of wallum heath which bursts into
a colourful profusion of wildflowers in spring.
On the western side of Peregian Beach is Lake Weyba National Park,
and Lake Weyba itself, which feeds into the estuary at Noosa Heads.
Nearby, too, is the southern extension of the Noosa National Park with
a rich mix of coastal heath and scrub and stately rainforest which
provides sanctuary and support for a wealth of native flora and fauna.
During World War 2, the Peregian Beach and Sunshine Beach areas were
used for artillery training. Current residents occasionally discover
artillery shells and unexploded ordinance on their land. On making such
discoveries, people should call the police who will arrange for
inspection and, if required, safe disposal.
View Larger Map
At the turn of the century, shops started to line the newly formed
streets and town businesses developed. By the end of the decade there
were several general stores, butcher shops, bakery, saddler, blacksmith
and auctioneers. After the railway opened from Yandina to Cooroy in
1891 along with the road to the north passing through the town, Eumundi
developed as an important centre of the timber and dairying industry.
The surrounding country consisted of dense scrub full of pine, beech
and cedar and long ridges covered with tallowood and blackbutt. George
Etheridge, in 1895, moved his sawmill from Petrie's Creek (Nambour) to
Main Camp and in 1900 moved it once again to Eumundi. It functioned
here until 1938.