You are here: Home > About Australia > Australia's Place Names > Adelaide
Place Names: South Australia - Suburbs of Adelaide

Aberfoyle Park
Originally a private subdivision, it was named after the original homestead of Christian Sauerbier. He died in 1893 and the property was taken over by his son, John Chris. During the First World War, when anti-German sentiment was at its height in Australia, John Chris changed his surname from Sauerbier to Aberfoyle - possibly a reference to the area of Perthshire, Scotland where his father had lived for a time. In 1923, John Chris died and a portion of his estate was subdivided and sold by James Henry Browne.

Adelaide
Named by royal command after Queen Adelaide, consort to King William IV. The city survey commenced 11th January 1837 and was completed 10th March 1837. Colonel Light intended to call the city Wellington but was overruled by Governor Hindmarsh. Queen Adelaide died in 1849. The native name of the area where Adelaide was surveyed by Light was recorded as Tarndanya, Tadanya or Tandarnya, meaning 'home of the red kangaroo'. Gov. Hindmarsh was never very optimistic about the suitability of the site, claiming, "it can never be a permanent capital by whatever means it may for a while be propped up. It can at best be nothing more than an inland market town of a fertile but limited district".

Albert Park
Named after Prince Albert, the Royal Consort to Queen Victoria. Originally a private subdivision laid out by W.R. Cave in 1877, portions of which are included in the suburbs of Seaton, Albert Park and Hendon. Cave owned an ostrich farm there prior to subdivision.

Alberton
Named after Prince Albert, Royal Consort to Queen Victoria. It was named c.1847 by Angas, Kingscote & Todd of the South Australia Company. The name used today is actually a corruption of the original name Albert Town. The name formally submitted by city of Port Adelaide at a council meeting in May 1945 and formally adopted by nomenclature committee in 1951.

Aldgate
Aldgate, near London, England, which is itself an Old English form of 'old gate'. In the days of King Edgar (958-75) it was spelt 'ealdgate'. Originally a private subdivision, the name is taken from the local hotel, the Aldgate Pump, which was established by Richard Dixon Hawkins in 1842. Hawkins was a Londoner, presumably from the Aldate area. Street names of the subdivision also have London based names.

Aldinga
An name of Aboriginal origin, taken from Abna "aldinghi", meaning water, or tree district. First recorded for Aldinga homestead. Its boundaries were created in 1985 though it has a long established name. Aldinga is well known for its long flat beaches on the Gulf Saint Vincent on the western side of Fleurieu Peninsula. Matthew Flinders explored the area in 1802, during his circumnavigation of Australia. Aldinga was a flourishing settlement during the 1860s, when it served as a port for the Fleurieu Peninsula.

Allenby Gardens
Proclaimed in Novermber 1918, it was named after Field Marshall Edmund Henry Hynman (Lord) Allenby of the British Army. Designated a Mitchum Gardens suburb, two names were originally suggested, Gallipoli and Allenby, both made reference to the Great War that was just coming to its conclusion, and were deemed appropriate because the new subdivision was being created on the site of a former military camp. At the time, an MP, Mr Denny, suggested that Allenby was inappropriate as General Allenby had used derogatory and insulting words about the Australian light horsemen. The objection was overruled.

Angle Park
A private subdivision of Yatala. Possibly so named because the subdivision was divided diagonally by a government road (now mainly closed-portion retained as Angle Vale Road).

Ascot Park
Originally a private subdivision. A portion taken and added to Edwardstown and portion of Edwardstown added to Ascot Park in 1992. Adopted as a suburb name in 1950. A portion north of Wood Street was added to South Plympton & portion of Morphettville west of Marion Road was added to aAscot Park. The western protion was eventually included into the suburb of Park Holme. The suburb, which takes its name from an English racecourse, was selected by Reginald Victor Wilson in 1913. It was laid out in 1881.


Ashford, Kent, England

Ashford
Named after a town in Kent, England by Dr Charles A. Everard in 1909. Dr Everard arrived in South Australia in November 1836 and established his Ashford property, which he claimed had the best orchard in the Colony. Originally a private subdivision, the name adopted as a suburb name in 1944. It was originally proposed to be added to the suburb of Keswick, but eventually used as a suburb name following representation from the residents. Portions were formerly known as Ashford Estate and Ashford South. The name means 'ford (water crossing) on a river'.

Ashton
The district's early population was sparse, and most probably centred on the South Australian Company's settlement, judging from the area's early name of Company's Tiers. In 1868 George Hunt subdivided some of his land and created Ashton. Hunt, who farmed at Third Creek, hailed from the Northamptonshire village after which it was named.

Athelstone
Named by recently arrived migrants William and Charles Dinham in April 1839. It is thought they were from Athelhampton in Dorset, England, and named their farm after their place of origin, though this has not been confirmed. A proposal to add a portion of Athelstone, together with portion of Newton to Paradise was launched, but not proceeded with due to strong opposition from the residents.

Athol Park
A private subdivision, the name of which was probably taken from Athol Farm, as marked on W.H. Edmonds' topographical map of 1926. A portion was excluded and added to Pennington. Another portion excluded and added to Woodville North.

Auldana
Named after Patrick Auld (1811-86), an early settler. Auld purchased land in the area in 1845 and planted the Auldana Vineyard, from which the name is derived. A proposal in 1994 to add a portion of Magill was not proceeded with.

Banksia Park
Its boundaries were established in 1965. A portion of Tea Tree Gully was added in 1968. It is named after the genus banksia of Australian native plants.

Basket Range
Basket Range gained its name from a source that is still uncertain. The most convincing story relates to the timber cutters, who required a licence, and a licence inspector named Basket was reportedly stationed there.In the vicinity of Deep Creek one of the area's pioneer families, the Burdetts, established a wildflower garden, specialising in Australian and South African plants. At its peak this garden, together with the annual cherry blossom display, was a Hills showpiece which brought visitors from Adelaide in droves.

Beaumont
Originally the name given to a private subdivision here, which literally means 'beautiful mountain'. Its boundaries were established in 1941 and the town was laid out and offered for sale by Sir Samuel Davenport in 1848. A portion of the original subdivision is included in the suburb of Burnside. It is thought to be named after a place of that name in England. The name occurs in Cumberland, Essex and Hertfordshire, is of Norman origin and means pleasant mountain.

Bedford Park
From 1912 to 1915, the Bedford Park area was owned by Ella A. Hancock, the daughter-in-law of the Moonta Mine manager, a Captain Hancock. The property was named Bedford after connections in England to the Bedford Family. The property was acquired in 1917 by the State Government for use as a Sanitorium for Returned Soldiers suffering from tuberculosis ("consumption" ). The name Bedford Park was retained. The northern part of Bedford Park was previously known as Burbank from 1927. The present-day Bedford Park emerged in 1966 when the introduction of postcodes consolidated many place names in the area.


Petite Martinique viewed from Belair, Martinique, West Indies

Belair
Parts of the present-day suburb were previously known as Alta Cresta, Alta Mira, Belair Park, Blackwood Park, Crest Alta, Monalta Park, Nunyara, and Sleeps Hill. Opinions differ as to the origin of the name Belair. One account has it that the name originates from 1849, after Eugene Bellairs, a Government surveyor who lived in the area. Another account is that the suburb was named by Gustav Ludewigs and his wife Maria, who was born at Bel Air on the French-held island of Martinique (West Indies). The Ludewigs arrived in South Australia in 1849, and leased land in the area from 1855.

Bellevue Heights
Comprising of the original the rural property of Windsor Farm and later Sturtbrae, this suburb was named after Bellevue in Sydney in 1965 by the developer Murray Hill. Its boundaries were adopted following agreement between city of Mitcham, postmaster general and the nomenclature committee.

Beulah Park
Originally the name of a private subdivision there. Its boundaries established in 1941. Portions were formerly known as North Kensington, Norwood Park and Rosaville. Beulah is a female given name from the Hebrew word meaning "married". It was used in Hebrew religious texts such as the Old Testament as a reference to the state of the relationship the Hebrews believed they had with God. It may have been named after Beaulah in Wales, or it may have Biblical origins.

Beverley
Originally the name of a private subdivision which was laid out by Emanuel Solomon in 1849. A small portion of Woodville South added in 1998.

Birkenhead
Originally the name of a private subdivision. The name was formally submitted by City of Port Adelaide in 1945. The name was formally adopted by nomenclature committee in 1951. Meaning head of birch trees, it was probably named after Birkenhead in Cheshire, England.

Birdwood
Honours Sir William Birdwood, an Australian General during World War I who led the Anzacs at Gallipoli. His name was an obvious choice when the World War I place names committee decided to replace the town's original name of Blumberg. How the first name came into being is still a matter for debate, but the most likely source was early settlers coming from the Prussian town of Blumberg, which is close to the river route used by the Silesian pioneers on their way from the likes of Züllichau and Klemzig.

Black Forest
Originally the name of a private subdivision that was created by William Peacock in 1850 when he subdivided his property. The name was adopted because of the deep shadow of the dense foliage of a gum forest, one time frequented by bush rangers and cattle thieves. This forest covered the whole region of what is now the City of Unley. It was declared a township in 1929.

Blackwood
Blackwood takes its name from the dark limbs of the native trees particularly casuarina stricta (sheoak) and eucalyptus microcarpa (grey box gum) growing down the hillsides. The Blackwood tree, (acacia melanoxylon) is not native to this district. Perhaps the undefined boundaries of vegetation account for the name of Blackwood being used anywhere between Belair and Coromandel Valley.
Parts of the present-day suburb were previously known as Belair Park, Blackwood Estate, Blackwood Hill, Blackwood Park, and Eastview.The earliest evidence of the name dates from 1853 when William Dawbiney's death was recorded at "Blackwood Vale Farm". In fact one of the early subdivisions of today's Blackwood was offered as Belair West around Woodleigh Street. Hence we have Blackwood District Community Hospital in the "beautiful air" of Belair, Blackwood schools in Eden Hills. Blackwood Vale Farm was in present day Glenalta and Blackwood Estate was in Hawthorndene.


Blair Castle, Blair Atholl, Perth, Scotland

Blair Athol
Originally the name of a private subdivision, it has its origins with Mary Ann Camerson, who came to South Australia in 1867 and took up residence with her family in Kapunda. She purchased a property in January 1905 and named it Blair Athol after the village in Scotland which is situated 50 km from Perth where she was born. The Blair Athol estate was subdivided by Alwyn G warren and Cedric B warren in 1915. The World Book states that this name is celtic for a plain cleared of trees, and takes its name from the home of the magarey family. Blair Athol in Queensland is said to be named after a parish in Scotland in the vicinity of the pass of Killiecrankie.

Bowden
Named after the home town of Sir James Hurtle Fisher in Northamptonshire, England. The village was created in 1839 by Fisher and John Wright, Colonisation Commissioner, after they purchased land and subdivided it. Few blocks were sold and the village was resurveyed and resold in 1848. The name in Cornish means 'a nasty place', but in Old english it means 'place on a hill'.

Bradbury
Bradbury began when a post office opened in 1920, and is believed to be named after a town in Durham, England. It has retained a thinly populated, rural atmosphere with no true hub of settlement. Early on, gold was discovered by the Onkaparinga near the present site of Bradbury. Shallow shafts yielded 'a good quantity' of gold, which in places had native copper associated with it. There was a rush to the spot, which was called Bigg's Flat, providing support for Mylor's predecessor, the little community of Rockford.

Brahma Lodge
The name is taken from the trotting horse stud conducted on the land by Frank Reiss, who was to sell his land for subdivision in 1960.

Bridewater
A private subdivision named in 1859. John Dunn established Bridgewater, laying out the township in 1859. His Bridgewater Mill is now the town's focal point for visitors, a towering stone building with a massive water wheel still turning gently after more than 130 years. When Dunn first opened the mill it was filled on weekdays with workers and on Sundays with a church congregation, for Dunn allowed its use by the Bible Christians.


Brighton Pier, England

Brighton
A private subdivision laid out by Matthew Smith, solicitor, in 1840. The original boundaries were proclaimed in November 1858. It includes the former subdivions of Dunluce and Brighton Gardens. The name recalls the English seaside locality of Brighton.

Broadview
Originally the name of a private subdivision laid out by C.H. Angus and K.D. Bowman in 1915. A decision was made in september 1944 by the City of Prospect to adopt this name as a suburb name.

Brompton
Originally the name of a private subdivision created by William Saunders and William Paxton in June 1849. The name comes from Yorkshire, England, and is the village where Paxton was born. The name means 'a village where broom grew'. A portion was taken and added to the suburb of Hindmarsh.

Brookly Park
The name was adopted as a suburb name in 1944. Portions were formerly known as Brooklyn Park extension, Bullington, Meldrith Park & Weeroopa. The first subdivision to bear this name was laid out by Oscar Gorger and Edward Lipsett in 1881. The name, believed to have been imported from the United States for this subdivision, has its origins in the Anglicised version of the Dutch word breukelyn, meaning 'broken ground' or 'marchy ground'.

Brownhill Creek
The name Brownhill describes the hills to the north of the creek. The indigenous Kaurna people called the area Wirraparinga meaning scrub or creek place. Cartographic evidence points to Brown Hill being mapped and named as one of the trig points for the first survey of land during 1837 and 1838. The name was given by Col. Light.

Burnside
The area now delineated as Burnside was first officially settled by Europeans in 1839. In that year Peter Anderson, a Scot, leased land from the SA Co. near Second Creek on Section 320. He built three stone cottages (one of which is still standing) and grew barley and wheat and raised cattle, pigs and poultry. Because his farm was alongside the creek and because the Scottish word for creek is 'Burn', Anderson called his farm Burnside.

Camden Park
Formerly a private subdivision, the name was adopted for the suburb in 1944. Portions were formerly known as Camden Estate and Camden Gardens. Originally proposed to be known as Camden, but Camden Park subsequently adopted. Campden Estate was laid out by Fannie E. Aitchison in 1911. Campden Park was laid out by Florence Mackenzie of Camden, in 1914. Note the different spelling which was changed to its present form in 1916 when a station was built there on the old Adelaide-Glenelg railway. The name, taken from a suburb of London, is of Celtic origin, and means 'a crooked hill', although Campden means 'a wooden plain' (from the French campus - 'a plain'.

Campbelltown
The name recalls early settler Charles James Fox Campbell. Campbell bought the land from SG Smith in 1842 and subsequently subdivided about 1846. The name was decided upon at a meeting of local residents held at the Glynde Inn on 9 December 1867, called "Committee to Protect the Interests of the District" where two names were put forward. "Athelstone" derived from Athelhampstone" in England and "Campbelltown" from Charles James Fox Campbell who was born in 1811 at Kingsborough on the Isle of Skye. Charles was born into a prominent family, the Campbells of Melford, Argyllshire, and his descent was from the Campbells of Lochend.

Carey Gully
Name taken from the gully named after settler Patrick Carey. The Gully was named in 1849. Carey Gully was in steep and difficult country and never developed to the same extent as the other towns. Its name first appeared in an 1851 report as 'Paddy Carey's Gully', and gradually the settlement grew. By the mid-1860s it boasted 'a post office, three chapels, two stores and a population of about 60'.

Castambul
Originally a private subdivision. Castambul takes its name from a property owned by Price Maurice. Maurice used Castambul to breed Angora goats. The 'exotic wool' trade in South Australia began in 1856 when John Haigh imported South American alpacas (similar to small llamas) and Western Asian angora goats, which he bred near Port Lincoln. They were apparently supplied by his uncle, Sir Titus Salt, a Yorkshire woollen merchant who manufactured angora wool. Maurice named his Sixth Creek property Castambul after the district in Turkey from which they came. The main town there is now known as Kastamonu, a short distance from the Black Sea coast. In the other direction lies Ankara, the Turkish capital, whose earlier name was Angora.

Cavan
The name recalls the old Established Cavan Arms Hotel. Its owner, B. Gillick, came from County Cavan in Ireland. The word is from the Gaelic 'cabhan', meaning 'a cavity'.

Cheltenham
Named after a town in Gloucestershire, England (right), the native town of settler John Denham. Cheltenham racecourse was added to the suburb of Cheltenham. Land here was first offered for sale as housing lots in November 1849 by Richard Day.

Chandler Hill
The name was given to the locality when it was subdivided and laid out by Eric Clyde Potter and Rex Gerald Potter in 1964. Its boundaries were created for the long established name although proposal for area in 1980 was not proceeded with. The name recalls an early settler, Charles Chandler (1804-78), who migrated to South Australia in 1836 and was initially employed by the South Australian Company as a shepherd.

Cherry Gardens
So named by Issac Jacobs, Henry Field and Edward Burgess because of the abundance of native cherry trees there when they went there to cut kangaroo grass in 1839. It became a long established name for a private subdivision in this area. Over the decades, mixed farming was pursued &endash; with some vineyards and orchards proliferating between the First and Second World Wars. Mining had been conducted at Dorset Vale and clay quarried at Cherry Gardens. There was also a large timber and wattle bark industry in the area and felling continued until the 1960s.

Christies Beach / Christie Downs
The name Christies Beach honours Rosa Christie who the landowner when the land was subdivided in 1924/25. Christies Beach is a seaside suburb in the southern Adelaide metropolitan area, within the City of Onkaparinga. The area is scenic and hence popular with photographers as Witton Bluff provides a natural vantage point over the entire suburb and beyond. The first European development along the Christies Beach coastline was constructed in the 1830’s. A whaling station was constructed along the coast, influenced by the rising price of whale bone overseas, the abundant Southern Right Whale population during the summer breeding season and the vantage point of the Gulf from Witton Bluff.

Cherryville
So named on account of the agricultural activities, i.e, the growing of cherry trees. In the early years this scattered little community was known as Sixth Creek and gained its present identity reputedly because it was the first area in South Australia to cultivate cherry orchards.

Clapham
Clapham was named after the London suburb of Clapham Junction by Charles Cleeve Collison c.1856. Parts previously known as Mitcham Estate, St James Park, Springbank East, and Torrens Park.

Clarence Gardens
Originally the name of a private subdivision. The name was formally submitted in 1945 to help eliminate superfluous subdivisions names as requested by surveyor-general. The area was to include Myrtle Park, Pitcairn & Claremont. Clarence Gardens was possibly named after the Duke of Clarence, later, King William IV.

Clarence Park
Originally the name of a private subdivision, the name was adopted in 1925. Clarence Park was possibly named after the Duke of Clarence.

Clearview
Originally the name of a private subdivision. It was thus named in 1922 by development company, Clearview Ltd because it had extensive views of the Adelaide Plains and the River Torrens.

Clovelly Park
Originally the name of a private subdivision. It was laid out by by D.M. and P.M. Mitchell in 1928, as executors of Richard Mitchell. The name recalls the town of Clovelly in Devon, England, which is built on the side of a steep rock. It is believed the Mitchells had connections with that town. The name, of Cornish origin, means 'steep rock'.

College Park
Named on account of its proximity to St Peters College. It was subdivided in 1874 by Henry S. Anthony and William Dixon.

Collinswood
Originally the name of a private subdivision. It was subdivided in 1880 by the executors of the estate of its origin owner, George F. Angus. It is possible that the name refers to an early settler, Henry Collins (1833-1929), who arrived from Cornwall in 1846 and later bought land in the area.

Colonel Light Gardens
"Australia's best example of a garden suburb", Colonel Light Gardens is steeped in history with tree-lined streets, rounded street corners, wide grassed verges and open space. Alternative names suggested for the suburb include Cavell, William Light Gardens, Light Gardens and Dernancourt. The name recalls Colonel William Light, first Surveyor-General of South Australia and Founder of Adelaide. He was the elder of the two sons of Captain Francis Light (the Founder and Governor of Penang, Malaya) and of Marina Rozells, referred to by some writers as a "Princess of Kedah". Colonel Light was born at Kuala Kedah (Malaya) on 27th April, 1786. His early years were spent in Theberton, Suffolk, England, from which the name 'Thebarton' was derived.

Coromandel Valley / Coromandel East
Originally a private subdivision. It is a long established name in this area. In January 1837, the ship Coromandel &endash; one of the early emigrant vessels to bring British settlers to South Australia &endash; arrived at Holdfast Bay. Ten of the crew, recorded the ship's Captain Chesser in a report, absconded and fled to a sanctuary in a rugged valley in the southern Mount Lofty Ranges. Two months later, the deserters surrendered to the law. It has been believed that the sailors hid in the gully to the east of what is now Coromandel Valley &endash; the ship they deserted lending its name to the locality.

Cowandilla
The Aboriginal name for the Glenelg area. Originally the name of a private subdivision, it was adopted as a suburb name in 1944. The subdivision was laid out in 1840 by Edward C. Gwynne (1811-88).

Crafers / Crafers West
Recalls David Crafer Of The Sawyers Arms, built in 1839. Originally the name of a private subdivision. In the early days it was at the heart of the Tiers, the haunt of Tiersmen and woodcutters who lived behind Mount Lofty, many of whom were escaped convicts, or had other reasons to drift from the limelight. Crafter may have been an ex-convict himself? He reached Adelaide during 1838 and became a timber merchant and licensed victualler. By the end of the year he and his wife were in the Tiers, running the Stringy-bark Hotel. Soon renamed the Sawyers Arms, it inevitably became better known as Crafer's Inn and a settlement grew around it.


London Road, Croydon, Surrey, 1920s

Croydon / West Croydon
The village of Croydon was laid out along with adjoining 5 acre farm lots in June 1853 by Alfred Watts and Phillip Levi who purchased the land at that time for that purpose. Th name recalls a town and Parish in Surrey, England. It means 'chalk hill'. Levi was born at Brixton Hill in Surry. In 1943 a portion was renamed to Ferryden Park. The name was adopted for suburb in 1943.

Cudlee Creek
Cudlee Creek takes its name from an Aboriginal word for the Dingo River. First in the district was William Kelly, from the Isle of Man. Together with his wife he reached South Australia in 1838 and within few months was squatting at Cudlee Creek. They named their property Sulby Glen from their home across the world. Another pioneer family was that of George Hannaford, among the first South Australians to grow apples commercially.

Cumberland Park
Originally the name of a private subdivision. Originally proposed in 1945 by City of Mitcham as Clarence Gardens. Later, in 1950, the eastern portion was proposed as Cumberland Park. The suburb is named after Cumberland region in England. Parts of today's suburb were previously known as Cabra, Redfern, Hollywood, Reade Park Gardens, and Avenue Park. In the early days the area was known as St Marys or Goodwood Road.

Darlington
Originally the name of a private subdivision. A portion of the original subdivision is within the suburb of Sturt. A proposal by Australia Post to add a portion of Flagstaff hill to the suburb in 1995 was abandoned due to strong residents objections & lack of effect to emergency services.

Daw Park
The suburb is named after John Wickham Daw, who settled in the south of the area in 1838. The name formally submitted, originally as Daws Park, in 1945 to help eliminate superfluous subdivisions names as requested by surveyor-general.


Dernancourt 1918 Diorama, Australian War Memorial, Canberra

Dernancourt
This suburb was laid out in 1923 by Richard Arthur Hobby. It takes its name from a town in France which was the scene of a number of Great War battles, and was an Australian base came where many AIF are buried in the War Cemetery. The suburb's boundaries were established in 1959. A portion of Windsor Gardens east of the north east busway was added to Dernancourt.

Devon Park
Once proposed to include Dudley Park & Islington. In June 2000 the boundary between Renown Park and Devon Park was realigned to centre of roads to avoid intersecting properties, resulting in a portion of Devon Park being added to Renown Park and a portion of Renown Park being added to Devon Park. The suburb was laid out by Lavinia and George Charles Braund in 1920, who had comnnection to the English County of Devon. Its streets bear names of the Devon area.

Dorset Vale
A long established name in the area that was first used as the name of the post office of a settlement known as Scotts Bottom. That name was officialy dropped in 1937. William Hill had settled here by 1840 and a number of others soon followed. They cut timber and engaged in general farming. His fellow voyager was George Mackereth and the 5km between them placed Mackereth in the district still shown on maps as Scott Bottom. When a post office and telephone exchange opened, the name bestowed on the locality, without any apparent local connection, was Dorset Vale.

Dover Gardens
Originally a private subdivision. A portion of Brighton was later added. It was proposed as a postal district in 1950. The land was first subdivided in 1853 by George Cole, Henry Hill, John Dench, William Croxall and Francis Duffield.

Dry Creek
Draws its name from a creek which passes through it. It was formerly known as Montague. The proposal to alter the boundary between Gepps Cross and Dry Creek was approved by Geog Names Board.

Dudley Park
Recalls William Humble Ward, Earl Of Dudley. He was governor-general of Australia 1908-1911. A subdivision was laid out by Thomas Matters in 1909 and another by the executors of John Howard Angas in 1910.

Dulwich
Named in 1854, it was originally a private subdivision laid out by John Hector (c1788-1863) and named after a town in Surrey, England, where he had come from. Its boundaries were established in 1941 and includes portions formely known as Victoria Park, Ascot Vale and Dulwich Park.

Eagle On The Hill
Named after a stuffed eagle that was kept at Anderson Hotel on the hill. William Anderson was licencee of the Anderson Hotel in 1853 when the eagle was erected.

Eastwood
Originally a private subdivision, its boundaries were established in 1941. The suburb was laid out in 1875 and sold by John Wark, carpenter. At the time, it was heavily wooded, though it is believed it was thus named bue to Wark's previous association with a town of the same name near Glasgow, Scotland.

Eden Hills
The suburb was named by Ashby and Saunders when the land was offered for sale. The Ashby family had a Quaker background. Originally a private subdivision, a portion of the area bearing this subdivision name is now included in the suburb of Blackwood. Parts of Eden Hills was previously known as Kinedana, Cobham Gardens, and Eden Hills Estate properties known as "Glengordon" and "Glen Forbes".
There are two recorded derivations of this name, detailed as follows:- 1. named by E Ashby being a description of the areas natural beauty. 2. named by William Datmar Cook who was at one time the master of the sailing barque "Eden".


RAAF Base, Edinburgh

Edinburgh
The name first applied to Edinburgh Airfield. The suburb name proposed to and accepted by the local council in 1999. It is an industrial suburb dominated by RAAF Base Edinburgh and DSTO Edinburgh. In addition, there are a number of Defence contractors, and other industries on land no longer required by the Department of Defence.

Edwardstown
Recalls William Edwards who laid out the town in 1838. A portion of suburb was renamed as Melrose Park in 1989. The name was formally submitted in 1945 to help eliminate superfluous subdivisions names as requested by surveyor-general. The area to included Colonel Light Gardens estate, melrose Park, Chellaston & Cudmore Park.

Enfield
The area was first surveyed under Col. Light's direction between 1837 and 1839. The first land purchaser was George Hickox (c1806-66) who laid out the village of Enfield in 1843. Named after Hickox's birthplace in Middlesex, England, its name is either Anglo-Saxon for 'duck field' or Old English for 'open country'.

Erindale
A populart irish cognomen eg erin (ireland) dale (valley). Originally a private subdivision, its boundaries established in 1941. Portions were formerly known as Leabrook and Burnside. The suburb was named after a house of that name first built in 1850. The subdivision was first laid out by the South Australia Company in 1910.

Ethelton
Originally a private subdivision, the name was formally submitted by the City of Poirt Adelaide ain 1945. The origin of the name is subject to some conjecture. One Source credits the name to Ethel Mary Phillips, the daughter of Dr James and Catherine Phillips, who was born there in February 1865. However, when the school first opened in 1873, it was named Glanville, and the name Ethelton did not appear until 1916, as the name of the newly opened railway station.

Evansdale
Recalls Mrs.Sarah Lindsay Evans, sister Of John Fife Angas of the South Australian Company who had originally sold her the land.

Everard Park
Named after the  Everard Family, who were the original landowners. Dr Charles Everard arrived in South Australia in 1836 and farmed land at Unley until his death in 1876. the subdvision was created by the executors of Charles J Everard in 1921.

Exeter
Offically it was named after Exeter Hall in London (right) where the resolution to form an association for the colonisation of South Australia was carried. The suburb name was formally adopted by nomenclature committee in 1951. The first purchaser of land here was Phillip Levi in 1850, but he did not use the name Exeter. Its next owner, John Lapthorne, did however, and as he was from Exeter (he was born there in 1807 and died in Exeter, Sa in 1889), the officially accepted explanation for the name appears subject to question.

Fairview Park
Fairview Park is the descriptive name given to the 80 acre subdivision set out in 1963. It recalls the name of a property owned by an early settler, Lt. Colonel Freeling.

Felixstow
The name originates from an early landowner, Rev Thomas Quinton Stow, who arrived in 1837 as the first non-conformist minister to take up pastoral duties in Adelaide. He first used the name Felixstow as that of his property in correspondence dated 1851. It is believed it is a combination of the word felix - Old English for happy, added to his surname, which means 'place'. Thus the name of the property means 'happy place'. the first subdivision took place in 1923.

Ferryden Park
Originally a private subdivision. In 1943 a portion of the area identified as Woodville Gardens was renamed. The name originates from Frerryden, a seaport in Forfarshire, Scotland, the home town of the locality's first white settlers, the descendants of William Duffy, a dairyman of Tam O'Shanter Belt when the land was subdivided in 1924 .

Findon
Named after a town in England. The name was officially adopted in 1926. The land was firsrt granted to George Cortis in 1839. He subdivided it and sold the lots under the name of Findon Estate in 1848. Cortis was from Worthing, Surrey, England, which is adjacent to Findon.

Firle
Taken from the name of the property of early settler Edward Castres Gwynne, who was born at Lewes in Sussex, England, which is near the towns of Firle and Glynde. His father was the Rector of Glynde. Gwynne arrived in South Australia in April 1838 and took up 500 acres of land on the foothills east of Adealide shortly afterwards.

Fitzroy
It has been suggested that this suburb was named after Fitzroy in Melbourne but a more likely explanation is that it was first used in 1882 by its developers, Messrs William E. Churcher and George Churcher, who were from Southampton, England. Southampton is in the English electoral district of Fitzroy.

Flagstaff Hill
So named because Colonel Light erected a flagstaff on the hill during the course of early surveys. As Colonel William Light's survey teams worked south from Adelaide throughout 1838 and 1839, they not only mapped the newly colonised region, but also left their marks on the landscape. One such mark was a trig point or flagstaff that was left at a grid reference of 783 192. By 1842, the area near this trig point was called the Flagstaff.

Flinders Park
Approved as a subdivision name in 1925 after being laid out by the South Australia Company in 1924. It was part of a thousand homes scheme. The name honours Australian navigator, Matthew Flinders (right).

Forestville
Originally a private subdivision named because of its close proximity to woodland. It was subdivided in 1917.

Forreston
The village grew initially at the hands of a blacksmith, Alexander Forest, who laid out the town in the late 1950s and after whom it was named. The community reached its peak in the 1880s, when it was the closest township to the Watts Gully goldfield, an 1884 discovery which promised rich pickings - one of its nuggets, weighing more than 14 ounces, was worthy of purchase by the Government.

Frewville
Recalls James Frew, an early landowner who subdivided it in 1847. Originally a private subdivision, the name was adopted at the creation of another subdivision of land owned by frew's son, James, upon his death in 1902. Formerly known as Frewville East and Frewville Estate.

Fulham
Named after a locality on the banks of the River Thames, London. Fulham was adopted as a suburb name in 1944, being formerly known as Fulham Park. The name originates from John White, who arrived in South Australia in 1836 and purchased land near the Reedbeds and named it Fulham Farm after his birthplace. William white laid out the suburb in 1877, though its school had already opened 16 years earlier.

Fulham Gardens
A foothills suburb, the name was selected by its subdividers, Hayborough Limited, who laid out the suburb in 1954. It recalls Green Hill Rivulet, named by Col Light, that is now known as First Creek as it was the first creek to be found and named in the area by Light.

Fullarton
Recalls Jane Fullarton, the daughter of an Edinburgh printer who married James Frew (see Frewville). Frew purchased the land from P.V. Agnew in in 1849, the year in which he laid out the town and began selling house lots.

Gawler / East Gawler
Gawler is reputedly the first country town in the state of South Australia, and is named after the second Governor (British Vice-Regal representative) of the colony of South Australia, George Gawler. It is located 40 km (25 miles) north of the state capital, Adelaide, and is close to the major wine producing district of the Barossa Valley. Gawler was established through a 1618 ha. "special survey" applied for by Henry Dundas Murray and John Reid and a syndicate of ten other colonists. The town plan was devised by the colonial surveyor, William Light, the son of Francis Light who founded Penang, Malaysia, and was the only town planned by him other than Adelaide. William Jacob used Light's plans and laid out the town.

Gepps Cross
Recalls Isaac Gepp (c1811-1891), the original owner of the local hotel. The area was originally laid out in farmlets in 1842 under the name of Montague Farm, after Sir Montague Lowther Chapman, who had obtained the land grant in June 1842.

Gilberton
Recalls Joseph Gilbert, an early landowner who created the subdivision in 1852 as Gilbert Town. An extension to the township was created and named Gilberton in 1871.

Gilles Plains
Honours Osmond Gilles, South Australia's first colonial treasurer. Gilles owned a sheep station adjoining the Torrens River. Originally a name applied to a private subdivision of one-acre blocks released in 1919.

Gillman
Recalls the General Manager of the South Australian Railways at the time when Rosewater Extension Limited laid out the suburb in 1950.


Glandore in County Cork, Ireland

Glandore
Originally a private subdivision. The name was adopted as a suburb name in 1944. The name is derived from the home town of Glandore in County Cork, Ireland, the birthplace of John O'Dea, one of six people who laid out the suburb in 1883.

Glanville
Named after Glanville Hall, the residence of Capt. John Hart. Glanville Hall was named after Hart's mothers maiden name. Capt Hart was chief secretary and treasurer of south Australia. It was originally the name of a private subdivision, The suburb name formally adopted by nomenclature committee in 1951.

Glen Osmond
Recalls earlier settler, Osmond Gilles, and was the name of his property. Gilles was the first colonial treasurer & landowner in this area, his land being purchased in October 1839. It was originally a private subdivision. The name was formally adopted in 1945 to help eliminate superfluous subdivisions names as requested by the surveyor-general. The village was laid out in 1857 by Gilles.

Glenalta
The name Glenalta is derived from "Glen" (valley) and "Alta" (high). Areas of Glenalta were previously known as Blackwood Vale, Sun Valley and Sherwood Estate. Glenalta is contained between Main Road to the west, Laffers Road north, Hawthorndene Drive south and Upper Sturt Road and National Park to the east. A Land Grant was issued to James Coutts late in 1844 and when he applied for an Occupation Licence for grazing rights on Yorke Peninsula in 1847, he gave his address as Blackwood Vale. He sold his Section 874 to Robert Burfield two years later (1849). In 1853 when William Dawbiney died on Robert Burfield's property, present day Glenalta was known as "Blackwood Vale Farm". This was a descriptive name, referring to the dark limbs of the native trees, particularly casuarina stricta (sheoak) or eucaluyptus microcarpa (grey box gum) growing down the hillsides.

Glenelg / Glenelg East / Glenelg South
The name recalls Charles Grant, Lord Glenelg who was the British Secretary of State for thye Colonies when the colony of South Australia was founded in 1836. It was here at Holdfast Bay that the province of South Australia was proclaimed on 28th December 1836. The town was laid out in 1839. It has also been known by the Aboriginal names Patawilya or Cowiandilla.

Glengowrie
Originally the name of a subdivision. Adopted as a suburb name following support from City of Marion, nomenclature committee and other government agencies. The name is a combination of Glenelg and Gowrie, the latter being the title of Sir Alexander Hore Ruthven, Lord Gowrie, the Governor of South Australia when the area was subdivided in 1837.

Glenside
Originally the name of a private subdivision which was descriptive. Its boundaries were established in 1941. Formerly known as Knoxville. The name is believed to be descriptive.

Glenunga
Originally a private subdivision. Its boundaries established in 1941. Portions were formerly known as Knoxville, Glenunga Park and Glenunga Central. The name is a combination of two words, Glenelg and the Aboriginal word 'unga', meaning 'near to'. It was applied to the subdivision when it was created in 1913 because it was near to Glenelg.

Glynde
Edward Castres Gwynne purchased land and built a cottage at Payneham which he called Glynde Place. He laid out the village in 1856 under the name of Glynde. It is an Old English word meaning 'enclosure' or 'fenced area'. The name was approved for the suburb in 1926.

Golden Grove
The Golden Grove area was founded by Captain Adam Robertson who built "Golden Grove House", and named it after the last ship he had commanded. Golden Grove was a originally a significant farming community. The locality has been in existance since the 1840's. The suburb was created from portions of the suburbs of Greenwith, Surrey Farm and Wynn Vale and un-named land.


Goodwood House, owned by the Duke of Richmond, set in parkland near Chichester

Goodwood
Named after the seat of the Duke of Richmond in Chichester, England. The South Australia Compant took up land here in February 1839 and referred to the land purchased as Goodwood. This land was subdivided into smaller farms and sold, one of the purchasers being Messrs James Goodiar and Richard E. Borrow, who named their property Goodwood Farm. This land was further subdivided into one-acre lots and sold under the name Goodwood Park in 1849.

Gould Creek
Originally proposed for a suburb in 1972, but not proceeded with at that time as area is above the hills face zone. The boundaries were created for the long established name in 1991. The name recalls Joseph Gould, an early landowner. Gould Creek is located in the City of Tea Tree Gully and City of Playford local government areas, and is adjacent to Greenwith, Salisbury Heights and Hillbank, as well as the rural districts of Yatala Vale and Upper Hermitage and the town of One Tree Hill. Agriculture played a key role in Gould Creek's early history, but from the early 1960s onward, Gould Creek played a critical role in Adelaide's utilities.

Grange
Named after Captain Sturt's Home "The Grange". This estate was some 350 km south. It was adopted as a suburb name within the town of Henley in 1945. The area was first subdivided in June 1878 as Grange Township to honour Sturt, who had been granted an 80 acre section near the townsite by the Province in gratitude for his exploration work.

Green Fields
Originally a private subdivision from which it takes its name. Southern portion of suburb included in the new suburb of Mawson Lakes in 1998.

Greenhill
Greenhill's boundaries were created in October 2001 for the long established name. A portion of Greenhill was excluded and added to Waterfall Gully in July 2002.

Greenwith
Greenwith was named by Thomas Roberts who purchased the sections in 1846. Thomas was a Cornish miner who was engaged by the South Australian Mining Association to open up mineral sections along the River Torrens. Thomas had worked at the Greenwith Mine, 5 miles south of Truro in Cornwall, England, before arriving in South Australia in June of 1839. He named his new property Greenwith Farm.

Gulfview Heights
A petition from the Gulfview Heights Residents Association and supported by the City of Salisbury lead to the creation of this suburb by renaming portions of Salisbury East and Para Hills in January 2002. The name had its origins as the name of the original subdivision - Gulf View Estate.

Hackham / Hackham West
The township of Hackham was surveyed for Edward Castle on Section 25 Hundred of Noarlunga in 1856. Castle had arrived in South Australia in 1839 and it is thought named the new settlement after his former home in Gloucestershire. Another version of the naming of the place states that J.B. Hack, an early colonist, lent his name to it and yet another has it that James Kingdon, the first owner of the section prior to Castle, named it.


Hackney, London

Hackney
Named after the property of John Bailey, the first colonial botanist. It was named after his home town of Hackney near London. The area was laid out by the South Australia Company in 1847, though at that time it consisted of 5-acre farmlets. The name is of Anglo-Saxon origin and means 'place near water'.

Hallett Cove
The cove was so named by John Hallett who discovered the cove when looking for lost stock in 1837. Originally a private subdivision, it was gazetted in 1929. Numerous localities and geographical features throughout South Australia bear the name Hallett, and were bestowed in honour of John Hallett and his brother, Alfred, who did much to establish and develop the colony in its early days.

Hampstead Gardens
Name after a place near London, England. Surveyed in 1864, the name was originally that of a private subdivision, which was laid out by Clearview Ltd in 1923. The first landowner was James Philcox.

Happy Valley
The name is taken from the valley of the same name, coming into use as early as 1836. The locality was originally a private subdivision, its boundaries created for the long established name. A portion together with other land was renamed as Woodcroft. A portion was then excluded and added to Reynella East.


Hawthorn viaduct, Durham, England

Hawthorn
Hawthorn is located on land purchased originally by Edward Thornber and David Garlick, which they subdivided in 1880. It is named after a part of Durham County in England. Parts were previously known as Dellwood, Joyce Park and Audrey Park. Originally a private subdivision, the name was formally submitted in 1945 to help eliminate superfluous subdivisions names as requested by surveyor-general. Subdivision occurred from the 1880s to the 1960s, however although sales took place, it is not necessarily an indication of settlement. Although the section north of George Street was all offered in 1880 the number of 19th century houses are few, some may have been demolished due to urban-consolidation in recent years.

Hawthorndene
Name taken from the original subdivison, which some sources say was named after the Hawthorn bushes growing along the Minnow Creek, or possibly the Hawthorn Maze in the Belair National park (the oldest such maze in the country). Another sources credits the origin of the name to Austin family who arrived in Blackwwod from London in June 1887. Mr Austin was a devotee of Sir Walter Scott whose poem 'The Lay of the Last Minstrel' contains a line - 'and seen from cavern'd Hawthornden'. He adopted the name for the glade wshere they settled, softening the name by adding an 'e' to it and calling their property Hawthorne Dene. Parts were previously known as Wardlaw Vale, Blackwood Estate and Eastview.

Hazelwood Park
Originally a private subdivision, it now incorporates portions formerly known as Hazelwood, Linden Park Gardens, Knigtsbridge and Tusmore Park. Francis Clark of Edgbaston, Birmingham, England, migrated to Adelaide with his wife and family in 1850 and purchased a property which he named Hazelwood after the celebrated Hazelwood School in Edgbaston, which later became their home. Mrs Clark was the daughter of the school's original owner, Thomas W. Hill. The suburb was laid out by John Howard Clark, the son of Francis Clark, on part of the family's land in 1877.

Heathfield
Originally a private subdivision. The subdivision of Heathfield, which officially occurred only in 1926, resulted from a westerly drift of public facilities from the locality known as Aldgate Valley (where Aldgate Creek winds from Aldgate to Mylor). In this district - Shanks Road - is a little stone building opened in 1889 as the Church of Christ, built on land donated by a former American whaler who settled in the Aldgate Valley in the 1860s.

Heathpool
Originally a private subdivision, named by the father of George Reed after his native town in Northumberland, England.

Hectorville
Named after John Hector who was the first manager of the Savings Bank. Hector, as attorney for Jane Botting, sold the land to Patrick Boyce Coglin (1815-1892) in 1854, who subsequently subdivided it into town lots a year later.

Hendon
Originally the name of a private subdivision. Wilkinson, Sands and Whyles Limited laid out the subdivision in 1921 on a portion of unused land purchased from Captain Henry John Butler who had established an aerodrome there in 1920. Several streets are named after aircraft of that time. The name comes from a suburb of London and an airport there, and is an old English word meaning 'high hill' - hean, 'high'; dun, 'hill'. Bulter was so impressed with the new settlement on his land, he offered another section of land for subdivision soon after.

Henley Beach
Named after Henley-on-Thames, England (right). Originally a private subdivision, the name was adopted as a suburb name within the town of Henley & Grange in 1945. The original subdivision was created in January 1860 and is believed to have been named Henley because of its close proximity to the township of Fulham. The English localities of Hanley and Fulham are close to each other on the River thames.

Hermitage, Upper / Lower
Upper Hermitage is a rural residential district, where the signs of habitation are low-key. Just to the east lies Lower Hermitage, and between them they occupy some of the land sections originally purchased by Thomas Williams. In 1839 he called his home The Hermitage. After some years the mainly wood homestead burnt to the ground. By then Williams had returned to England and it was left to his daughter to administer the estate. Bit by bit it was cut up and sold and in time became Upper and Lower Hermitage.

Highbury
This area was settled 10 years after the valley sections on the north and south were settled. In the 1850's this area became known as Highbury. The largest landholder was Stephen George Dordoy who named the property. The Dordoy family may have had some connection with a Highbury in north London, but may also be a descriptive name of the area. The name Highbury became attached to the area in 1857 when Herman Friederich Koch, who built the first hotel at Hope Valley, the Bremen Arms, constructed another hotel and named it the Highbury Hotel.

Highercombe
A devonshire word meaning higher valley. Highercombe was named after George Anstey's original family home near Dulverton, Somerset. Today's Highercombe Golf Course is sited on the part of the Highercombe Estate which was nearest to Anstey's house. The Highercombe Estate was established in 1840 when George Anstey purchased sections 5514 and 5517 of the Special Survey on the Little Para (240 acres). During subsequent years, the property was increased to take in 1063 acres running from Houghton down to the River Torrens on present day Gorge Road. Anstey experimented with a wide variety of crops and established extensive gardens, vineyards and orchards on the property. The Anstey Hill end of Paracombe Road was originally the tree-lined driveway to Anstey's house.


Highgate, London

Highgate
Named after Highate in London. A dense area of bush known as the Black Forest once covered the Highgate/Unley region of the Adelaide Plains. The woodland forest was a mix of grey-box, blue gum, red gum, native pines and sheoak trees, with grass trees, native grasses and orchids.

Hillbank
Originally a private subdivision. The original subdivision was laid out and sold as Hill Bank Estate but the name was changed to Hillbank in 1966. The former suburb of Elizabeth Heights and other land was added to Hillbank in 1987. Hillbank is a residential suburb of the City of Playford.

Hillcrest
Originally a private subdivision. In 1943 a portion of the area identified as Gilles Plains was added to Hillcrest.

Hilton
Named after Matthew Davenport Hill. He was an original landowner in this area. Originally a private subdivision, the name was adopted as a suburb name in 1944.

Hindmarsh
Recalls the South Australian Governor John Hindmarsh. Originally a private subdivision, being the first private subdivision laid out in South Australia. Gov Hindmarsh owned the land prior to the subdivision into allotments by Messers Hindmarsh and Lindsay in June 1838.

Holden Hill
Originally a private subdivision. The name is the corruption of the name of Robert Haldon, an original landowner in the area.

Hope Valley
Hope Valley was the earliest of the settlements in the present day City of Tea Tree Gully. It grew haphazardly, rather than as the result of deliberate planning. Some semblance of a township began to emerge early in the 1840s when Jacob Pitman sold a few allotments of the 80 acre section (Section 824) he had owned since 1839. One of these allotments was purchased by William Holden in 1841. Holden opened a store and butchers shop on Grand Junction Road near present day Valley Road.
William Holden is credited with naming Hope Valley. In 1842 he returned home from Adelaide, to find that his home and shop had been destroyed by a bushfire. The details about this incident vary, however, the common theme seems to be one of hope - either, that instead of feeling despondent Holden felt hope, or that hope was all he had left after the devastation.

Houghton
Named after Houghton-Le-Spring In Durham. Houghton was the first village in the Tea Tree Gully region. It was laid out by John Richardson in 1841. Richardson came to South Australia in April 1838, he was a sharebroker, land agent and surveyor. By June 1840 he had acquired 600 acres of the Little Para Survey (an area encompassing present day Paracombe and Houghton). Section 5519 of this land consisted of 80 acres of hilly countryside which was of little use for farming. Richardson subdivided this into fifty allotments and a village common, of some 10 acres. By 1844 most of the allotments had been sold and the village had a blacksmith, a storekeeper, a chapel and a public house.

Hove
Named after a town in England near Brighton. Originally a private subdivision which includes the former subdivisions of Bellevue, Middle Brighton, Old Brighton and Ballara Park.

Hyde Park
The name, originally given to a a private subdivision, recalls the famous park in London, England.

Ingle Farm
Ingle Farm is an established, residential suburb, with some parklands, of about 8,500 people in the South Australian capital city of Adelaide. It is located at the base of the Mount Lofty Ranges foothills, around 12 kilometers north-east of Adelaide's central business district. The grandson of pioneer settler John Rowe, Jabez Sleeman Rowe, took on the family farm and married Martha Barbara Wright from Inglewood in 1902, consequently naming the farm Ingle Farm. In 1959, the South Australian Housing Trust purchased 3.0 km2 from the Rowe brothers and started a housing estate, with the first Housing Trust homes built in 1965 and 2,500 houses completed by 1975.

Ironbark
While the neighbouring districts of Cherry Gardens and Scott Creek were settled in the late 1830s, as colonists moved south of Adelaide, the locality of Ironbank received its early settlers somewhat later. In the 1850s, William Pole &endash; whose descendants still live in the area &endash; took up land at Noarlunga. Subsequently, Amelia, sister of William, met and married one Charles Morgan. Charles, who had arrived in South Australia as an infant in 1847, came to the area in 1870. Nearby, Thomas and Ellen Brown took up property and, in 1884, named their farm 'Ironbank' &endash; the reason for this, says local legend, was the prevalence of ironstone in the soil.

Joslin
Recalls Henry Joslin, a director of the South Australian company. Originally a private subdivision, the name approved in May 1925. Joslin is in the City of Norwood, Payneham St Peters.

Kensington
The name, originally given to a a private subdivision, recalls the locality in London, England. Following the first ballot for country sections in May 1838 a mere 17 months after the proclamation of South Australia, Kensington village was surveyed in November of the same year. In 1839 George Brunskill and George Reed each independently leased half of Section 290 from the South Australia Company and established Sandford and Heathpool Farm respectively.

Kensington Gardens
The name, originally given to a a private subdivision, recalls the famous park in London, England (right). It was formerly known as 'Pile's Paddock', after James Pile who was born in Yorkshire in 1800 and arrived in South Australia in 1849.

Kensington Park
An area formerly known as Shipster's Paddock that was originally a private subdivision. Shipster's Paddock was a favourite arena for Aboriginal celebrations The locality's boundaries were established in 1941. It includes portions formerly known as Boskenna, Roseville, Kensington Oval, St Michaels, North Kensington Park, Beulah estate, Halton Gardens and North Kensington. The name recalls the locality in London, England.

Kent Town
Recalls Dr.Benjamin Archer Kent M.D. Originally a private subdivision of land originally granted to George Barnes on 12/10/1841, transferred to Robert Torrens in 1846. Subdivided in 1854 by Green and Wadham.

Keswick
Originally the name of a private subdivision, it was adopted as a suburb name in 1944. It recalls a town in England.

Kidman Park
Kidman Park is a suburb in the City of Charles Sturt. The River Torrens runs through the suburb and there is a pedestrian walking or bike track that is a possible route to go to the City, beaches and even to the Adelaide Hills. The suburb's name honours Sir Sidney Kidman (1857-1935), the greatest pastoral landowner in modern history. Over time, benefitting from their experience and observation, he built a vast network of connected stations stretching from both the Gulf of Carpentaria and the Fitzroy River in Western Australia down into South Australia near the Flinders Ranges and also across New South Wales

Kilburn
Originally a private subdivision, previously known as Chicago. The name was altered in 1930. It recalls a suburb of London, England.

Kilkenny
Originally the name of a private subdivision which recalls a town in Ireland.

Kings Park
Originally the name of a private subdivision.

Kingston Park
Originally a private subdivision which takes its name from Kingston House. In 1936 a portion of Marino was added to it. A resident's proposal in 1964 to rename the area Marino was not accepted.

Kingswood
Originally a private subdivision believed to be named after a locality in England. The name was formally adopted 1945 to help eliminate superfluous subdivisions names as requested by surveyor-general. The area was subdivided from J Phillipson's Estate and various others between 1877 and 1942. Parts of today's suburb were once known as Kingswood Estate, Mitchamville, Kimberly, Kingswood Park, Brenchley Estate, and North Mitcham.


Klemzig in 1840

Klemzig
Originally a private subdivision named in 1838 after a town in Prussia from which many of its first residents had migrated. A proposed name change to Yaralin during a move to alter "names of enemy origin" was not accepted, however the name wasaltered to Gaza. It later reverted back to Klemzig. Kobandilla is now included in the suburb.

Kudla
The name was first used for the railway station, and is of Aboriginal origin. Kudla is a locality in the northern Adelaide suburbs, 34 km from the city centre, just south of Gawler.

Kurralta Park
An Aboriginal name meaning "up there", used originally as the name of Dr Wyatt's residence in burnside. The name was used for one of Burnside's oldest and finest mansions, built by Dr. William Wyatt in 1844. The name was adopted as a suburb name in 1944. It was proposed at one stage to be named Grassmere, but the original name was retained at the end of the negotiations.


Largs, Scotland

Largs Bay / Largs North
Name taken from Largs Bay which is named after Largs on the Firth Of Clyde, Scotland. Originally a private subdivision known as Largs. The. suburb name formally adopted in 1951.

Leabrook
Named after a town in England, the birth place of Mrs. Watts, an early resident of the area. Originally a private subdivision, a portion of which was part of Erindale.

Leawood Gardens
Originally the name of a private subdivision. Leawood Gardens has the smallest population of the City of Burns ide’s suburbs and for census purposes it is counted as part of Glen Osmond.

Linden Park
Originally a private subdivision, the name was originally proposed by the city of burnside to be applied to the portion of Hazelwood Park east of the current suburb. Its boundaries were established in 1941. Linden Park is a suburb of Adelaide in the City of Burnside.

Lockleys
Originally a private subdivision possibly named after a town in England. It was adopted as a suburb name in 1944 and includes portions formelry known as White Park and Lockleys Estate.


Longwood, St Helena Island

Longwood
Named after the property of Mr Colbey, an early settler in the area. It is recorded that the name comes from Napoleon's house of exile in St Helena, where the father of the Colbey brothers had associations. Longwood is barely a mile from where the emperor was interred in 1821 on this rocky South Atlantic outpost. The Colbey links with the island remain a mystery.

Lonsdale
Originally settled in the early 1840s in the movement of colonists south from Adelaide into the Morphett Vale region, Lonsdale took its name from the English place, Kirkby Lonsdale, from where one Henry Johnson had come. Johnson's daughter, Margaret, married a local farmer Thomas Henry Tank. Tank, at one time, leased land from Miss Dorothy Sheriff and gave the name Lonsdale to his property. A local railway siding came to bear the same name, and, in time, the suburb.

Lower Mitcham
The area was originally laid out by Philip Levi of the South Australia Co in 1851, when it was known as Lower Mitcham. Parts were previously known as Joyce Park, Hawkeston, Mitcham Estate, Torrens Park West, Lower Mitcham Extension, Hawthorn, Audrey Park, and Frimley. Further subdivision followed later.

Lynton
Originally the name of a private subdivision, the name was suggested in 1955 by nomenclature committee. Lynton was possibly named after Lynton in Devon, England.

Magill
In 1838 the village of Makgill (Magill) subdivided and offered for sale. In 1844, Dr Christopher Penfold acquired land at Magill and began establishing a vineyard.

Malvern
The name was first used in 1848 to advertise the sale of subdivided land there, though at the time the name was not officially recognised. It was part of a land grant to John Smith, who founded Smithfield in August 1847. The initial subdivision failed and no land was sold. The suburb as we know it today was laid out in 1882 by land agents Charles Lyons and Charles Sydney Leader. The name comes from Woucestershire and is dervived from either the Old english 'malferna', meaning 'hill over the moor' or the welsh 'moel-fryn', meaning 'bare hill'.


Manningham, Yorkshire

Manningham
Laid out by Lowe and McKeough Pty Ltd in 1965. It was part of an allotment known as Hampstead Heath which was purchased by Alfred Henry Bennett in 1905. His wife was born in the Yorkshire wool milling town of Manningham, and it is after her place of birth that the locality was named.

Mansfield Park
Probably takes its name from Mansfield, a small town in Ayrshire, Scotland. The town was laid out in 1923. The name is believed to be connected to Henry thompson, the former owner.

Marden
The name was first used by the land's original White settler, Joseph Gilbert, who took up the property in 1848. Gilbert came from Wiltshire, England, where there is a town named Marden. It is derived from the Old English 'mearc-denu', which means 'boundary valley'.

Marino
The first White settler was George S Kingston who built a house on his newly acquired land in April 1839 which he named Marino. The name was given to a subdivision of Kingston's land into 4-acre blocks in 1847 by Matthew Smith. Some sources claim it to be of Aborigtinal origin, meaning 'place of the hand', being a corruption of 'marra', meaning 'hand'. A more logical explanation is that is derived from Kingston's homeland of Ireland. Kingston was born in Bandon, County Cork. 20 km north of that town lies the River Lee and on its left bank is Lough Mahon, the prominent point of which is called Marino Point.

Marion
Commonly believed to recall Miss Marion Fisher, the daughter of James Hurtle Fisher, the First Resident Commissioner, however Miss Fisher always denied it was named after her. The name was used by Henry Noxon and B.T. Finniss when they subdivided and sold the land in November 1938. As Henry Nixon's wife's name was Eliza Maria and their daughter, who was born in the same year of subdivision, was named Susannah Mary, it is reasonable to assume that the name is in fact a combination of Maria (or Mary) and Nixon. Supporting this suggestion is an article in The Register, 4th November 1895, which states the township was named after Mrs Nixon.

Marleston
Recalls the original owner, John Marles, who subdivided the property in 1879. Born in 1818, Marles migrated to South Australia in 1848. He died in February 1914.

Marryatville
The name was first recorded in June 1849 when the first alloments of James Philcox's property were subdivided and sold under the name of the village of Marryatville. It is believed the name is derived from Miss Augusta Sophia Fox Marryat, the daughter of Charles Marryat and neice of the Bishop of Adelaide, who married the incoming Governor of South Australia, Sir Henry Young, in 1848, a few months prior to the subdivision taking place. The SA town of Port Augusta was also named in her honour.

Maslin Beach
The name recalls the Maslin Brothers who were early landowners here. It lies within the City of Onkaparinga local government area, and neighbours the suburbs Moana, Port Willunga, and McLaren Vale.

Maylands
The name is derived from the property Maylands, which was named by its owners William Wadham (1824-95) and his wife Jane (nee Cooper) who had married in Adelaide in 1852. The Cooper family had emmigrated from Mayland in Essex, England. This Old English name was first recorded in 1185 as 'mailanda', meaning 'at the island'.

McLaren Vale
The region was named after either David McLaren, the Colonial Manager of the South Australia Company or John McLaren (unrelated) who surveyed the area in 1839. Although initially the region's main economic activity was the growing of cereal crops, John Reynell and Thomas Hardy planted grape vines in 1838 and the present-day Seaview and Hardy wineries were in operation as early as 1850. To the north it reaches to Reynella, named after the first winemaker in the area John Reynell. Grapes were first planted in the region in 1838 and some vines more than 100 years old are still producing. Today there are more than 88 cellar doors in McLaren Vale. The majority are small family-run operations and boutique wineries.

Medindie / Medindie Gardens
An Aboriginal word, believed to be derived from 'Medaindi', the name of the local group of the Kaurna tribe who occupied the area prior to White settlement. The first white settler was Frederick Hansborough Dutton, who took up the land in 1849. A subdivision plan dated 1876 used the name "Medinde'.

Melrose Park
The suburb was named after the aviator Jimmy Melrose who competed in the 1934 England to Australia Air Race. Parts of Melrose Park were previously known as Chellaston, Edwardstown, and Cudmore Park. In that year the former State Bank Of South Australia offered a number of building allotments in the area.
Residents attended a public meeting to debate changing the name of the suburb Edwardstown. Residents considered Edwardstown to be an inappropriate name. Most of the several hundred residents who attended seemed emotionally persuaded towards the name "Melrose Park", which was formerly used for a pocket of houses in the area. They maintained this name sounded better and therefore contributed towards the value of their homes. No historical evidence could be presented to associate Jimmy Melrose, the 21 year old aviator or any of his family to the area . It appears that the name was given to part of Edwardstown by a land agent or a zealous officer of the State Bank to promote blocks of land or war service homes being offered, possibly some time after 1936.

Mile End / Mile End South
Laid out in 1860 by the South Australian Company, the subdivision plan at the time named it the Town of Mile End. The subdivision was approximately one file from the centre of the Town of Adelaide. The use of the name is commonplace in England. A Mile End in Essex is one mile from Colchester; a Mile end in Middlesex is one mile from Aldgate.

Millswood
The name is believed to honour Samuel Mills who arrived in South Australia from England with his brother Robert in 1839. They established Ravenswood farm which they named after their town of origin in the south of Scotland.

Mitcham
The suburb was named after Mitcham in Surrey, England, the birthplace of the manager of the South Australian Company, William Giles. Established in 1840, Mitcham Village still retains much of its original colonial architecture. It is one of the oldest European settlements in the State. The area has a number of opportunities for exploring the heritage of the area.

Mitchell Park
The name recalls local businessman, Richard Mitchell, who was born at Parkside in 1859. He became the well known proprietor of a removalist firm. Mitchell subdivided his property into town lots in 1912 under the name Mitchell Park estate. In 1921 further subdivision took place when the suburb was extended.

Moana
A Maori named meaning blue seas. The locality was originally a private subdivision. The name was selected following the running of a competion by the nomenclature committee. The original winner was Boon Boona beach, being a slight variation in the spelling of an Aboriginal name. Moana lies within the City of Onkaparinga local government area, and neighbours the suburbs Port Noarlunga South, Maslin Beach, and Seaford Rise. The beach front at Moana is a combination of low cliffs, sand dunes, and hard compacted sand.


Modbury, Devonshire, England

Modbury / Modebury Heights/ Modbury North
The village of Modbury began to emerge in 1857-58. Up until 1855 Main North East road ended at the junction with present day Blacks Road. Travellers then went north along Blacks Road to Grand Junction Road or along present day Lyons Road to Hope Valley. Ludwig Koop opened a blacksmith's shop in 1857. A public house was built in 1858. This was named the Modbury Hotel, this was the first use of the name Modbury in the area. Early settler Robert Symons Kelly was born in Modbury, Devonshire.


Montacute, Somerset, England

Montacute
Copper was found here in 1843 by a man seeking a lost steer. Rich green copper oxide coated a rock outcrop, and searches revealed more of the same. A mine was established by a syndicate and they named it Montacute, after a little town in Somerset. This was at the behest of the Hon John Baker of Morialta, the syndicate member who bid for the land at auction. Baker's birthplace is recorded as 'near Ilminster', which is close to Montacute.

Montefiore Hill
Jacob Montefiore, the last survivor of the ten Commissioners for SA of 1835, was born in Jamaica where his father was a merchant and sugar planter. He was an investor in the Swan River settlement (Perth) in Western Australia in 1829 and had other business interests in Australia. As mentioned above, Montefiore and Palmer assisted Colonel Light in preparing the ships Rapid and Cygnet for the maritime survey of South Australia in 1836.
He visited Adelaide in 1843 where his brother had a business. Montefiore continued to promote South Australia throughout the rest of his life and to highlight the efforts of his friend Colonel Light. He died in London in 1895.

Morialta
An Aboriginal word, derived from 'yatala', meaning 'running water' or 'ever flowing' and 'mari', meaning east. Thus it means 'east flowing water'. It was used by settler John Baker for his 2,000 acre property which he acquired in 1847.

Morphett Vale
Throughout the nineteenth century, Morphett Vale was the first substantial town to the south of Adelaide. In October 1840, a town named Dublin was subdivided and this development was the first of many that eventually merged as the town of Morphett Vale. The promoters of Dublin argued that their aim was to provide land at reasonable prices and to bring workers to the 'thriving district'. The place itself was named after John Morphett, one of South Australia's European founders.

Morphettville / Morphettville North
Recalls Sir John Morphett. Morphett was a prominent early settler who arrived in South Australia on board the Cygnet on 11th September 1836. Originally a private subdivision, a portion of the original subdivision included in the suburb of Campden Park. Morphettville is a suburb of Adelaide in the City of Marion. It is the site of the Morphettville Racecourse (horseracing track) and the tram barn for the Glenelg Tram.

Mount Lofty
At 727m, Mount Lofty was clear enough above the rest of the Ranges to be picked out by Matthew Flinders in 1802 - and he was on Kangaroo Island at the time. Thus did the loftiest peak in the Ranges get its name. Its summit has been a drawcard for people from the first days of settlement, and by 1840 a cairn and flagpole had been put in place. An obelisk built in 1885 acted as a shipping navigational aid (and more recently as an aerial one, too). A kiosk, built so that people could enjoy the views in comfort was burnt in the 1983 bushfires.

Mount Osmond
See Glen Osmond.

Munno Para
The name was first used for the Hundred of Munno Para. The name, of Aboriginal origin, means Golden Wattle Creek.


Mylor, Cornwall, England

Mylor
Warrakilla was the name given by George Woodroffe Goyder to his home in this vicinity. As Surveyor-General for more than 30 years at a crucial period in South Australia's development, Goyder's work was of paramount importance to primary industries. It was Goyder who suggested some relatively flat ground here as a town site when service centres were needed to support the new workingmen's blocks. The town dates from 1891, proclaimed by Acting Governor Sir James Boucaut, who named it after his Cornish birthplace.

Myrtle Bank
A suburb in the City of Unley, Myrtle Bank appears to take its name from that of an original subdivision of land here. It is probably a reference to myrtle trees growing there.

Nailsworth
Believed to be named after the Cotswold town of Nailsworth in Gloucestershire, England, which lies in one of the Stroud Valleys. Adelaide's North Road Cemetery is located within the suburb and was founded by Bishop Augustus Short in 1853. It contains the graves of some prominent South Australians.


View from Netherby House, Yorkshire

Netherby
Netherby was named after a property with the same name in Yorkshire, England. Parts of Netherby were originally known as Galway and "Woodside". The original "Netherby" property was on the east side of Fullarton Road. The name of Netherby did not appear until a decade after the Land Grants had been issued. Meanwhile the area had belonged to Edward and Anna Pollard between 1838 and 1844 when it was transferred to William Bartley.

Netley
Thomas Beare (1792-1861) purchased land here in 1838 and named it after Netley Abbey in Hampshire, England, the county in which he was born. Netley Estate was laid out by Herbert White Hughes in 1813. The name is derived from an Anglo Saxon word, meaning 'wet pastures'.

Newton
In the 1850s, Woodforde was referred to as the New Town and the road to it as the New Town Road. In time this was corrupted to Newtown Road, as the modern day St Bernards Road was then called. In 1849, land along the road was subdivided by Thomas Shepherd and advertised as the township of Newtown.

Noarlunga Centre / Noarlunga Downs
Essentially former farming hinterland to the north and west of Old Noarlunga, Noarlunga Downs shares a similar pattern of history to other nearby suburbs like Hackham and Morphett Vale. Among the first settled parts of South Australia, colonists reached the lands to the south of Adelaide in 1838 and 1839. Within a few short years the area had been turned into the bread bowl of South Australia and wheat production was high, providing good returns for farmers and for the local flour millers who ground the grain and sold. The name "No-orlunga" supposedly comes from the Kaurna word meaning 'fishing place'.


Flinders Marina, North Haven

North Haven
Originally a private subdivision. The creation of the suburb was originally opposed by the post-master general due its size and the duplication of the name elsewhere in australia which might cause confusion. After an alteration to the boundary between north haven and outer harbour, the name was finally approved. The name is a descriptive reference to its small boat harbour.

Northfield
The suburb was laid out in 1925 by Edward A Wilcox who followed a common practice of giving a descriptive name to the new subdivision. It simply means 'North Field' and refers to the fact that the subdivision was in the country and to the north of Adelaide.

Northgate
This suburb was created by the renaming a portion of Northfield in June 2000, following a request by builder/developer A.V. Jennings and support from contacted agencies.

Norton Summit
Robert Norton was recorded as the first person to drive a team of bullocks up the horrendous final portion of Giles' Hill to Norton Summit. A wood carter for the South Australian Company, one of Norton's tasks was to bring timber to fence the West Terrace Cemetery. He was a long-time resident of the Magill area and his daughter was the first bride to be married at Magill's historic St George's Church. Norton Summit's start as a village was so modest that it is difficult to pin down a year for its genesis. Landowner Charles Giles divided some areas into smaller sections during the late 1840s and early 1850s. Settlement became more established in the 1870s.


South Norwood, London, England

Norwood
The land on which the first subdivision was made in November 1847 was first taken up by Charles Cortis in 1839. The subdivision took place by its new owners, Messrs Samual Reeves, Robert Miller, William A Bryden, William Paxton and Henry Collier under the name of Norwood, which recalls a suburb of London, England. This name was first recorded in 1294 as 'northose', meaning 'north wood'.

Novar Gardens
Originally laid out as Morphetville in 1921 by the State Bank of Adelaide. The name was subsequently changed to honour Viscout Novar who, as Sir Ronald Monro Ferguson, was Governor-General of Australia. Novar was apparently the name the Governor General was known by in the Scottish Highlands. The original subdivision comprised 30 acres of the Cummins Estate granted to John Morphett in 1838. The latter name, which was applied to a railway station on the Glenelg-North Terrace line, was reputedly the name of a Devonshire village where Morphett's mother was born.

O'Halloran Hill
Recalls the original white landowner, Major Thomas S. O'Halloran (1797-1870), who later became commissioner of Police. The area between Chandler Road and the Main South Road was subdivided in 1912 and called Glenthorne Estate after a property formerly held by Norman Campbell. It was re-subdivided in 1960 and called O'Halloran Hill by Dulcie Edna Gunn.

Oakden
Oakden was the maiden name Of Osmond Gilles' wife. The locality was formerly part of Gilles Plains and Hillcrest. Osmond Gilles was South Australia's first colonial treasurer. He owned a sheep station adjoining the Torrens River. Oakden is located to the north-east of the Central Business District. It was established as a housing estate named Regent Gardens in the early 1990s and is located on former Department of Agriculture land.

Oaklands Park
The subdivision was laid out in 1914 as Oaklands Estate by Thomas C and Catherine C Tait of Broken Hill. The name probably derives from the fact that its former owner, Hon. J. Crozier, had planted English oak trees on it and had called it Oaklands estate.

Old Noarlunga
In 1840, the South Australian Company laid out 'No-orlunga Township' at the 'Horseshoe', Onkaparinga River. The name, Noarlunga, supposedly comes from a Kaurna word meaning 'fishing place'. The surrounding country became a focus for cereal farming. The South Australian Company owned a great deal of the nearby land and their tenant-farmers seldom made headway.

One Tree Hill
A private subdivision. The name Uley and One Tree Hill appear to have been used since the early 1850s to designate two separate portions of the area now known generally as One Tree Hill. Uley derives its name from a village in Gloucestershire, England. It is also used for the name for the Hundred of Uley. One Tree Hill is 22 km north of Adelaide. It is located in the City of Playford local government area.


Onkaparinga River mouth, Port Noarlunga

Onkaparinga Hills
The Onkaparinga River was first recorded in 1831, before the settlement of Adelaide through the exploration of Captain Collett Barker, a contemporary of Charles Sturt. Five years later, William Field described it again and Colonel Light mapped it as Field's River, later however, Governor George Gawler chose to name the river after Aboriginal nomenclature and so it received its name, 'Onkaparinga' (taken from the Kaurna meaning 'women's river').

Osborne
Recalls the original owner, Captain R.W. Osborne, a mariner, who developed the property and built his home on it, which he named Osborne House. The suburb was laid out in 1908.

Ottoway
In 1853, a section of land here was bought from George Dale by Thomas Ottaway, a licensed victualler. Upon his death, the land was subdivided and sold by Seth Ferry and Robert T Moore. The surveyor performing the subdivision misspelt the name, which has never been corrected.

Outer Harbour
A descriptive name used to diferentiate it from the Inner Harbour, which was first used and officially adopted in 1908 as Outer Harbour. For some unknown reason, it became the first Australian name to be Americanised when, in 1913, the Harbors Act changed it to Outer Harbor.

Ovingham
In 1852, a recent arriver from Ovingham, near Newcastle-on-Tyne, England, schoolteacher John Whinham, founded Whinham College. The suburb which bears the name of the place he taught in before coming to South Australia was subdivided by Whinham's son, William (1842-1925), in 1875. the name is derived from the Old English 'ofre', meaning 'a shore of the sea' or 'a bank of a river' and 'ham', 'a home'.

Panorama
Part of Panorama was originally known as Springbank. Today's name was inspired by the views the area offers. Few people realise that half the suburb of Panorama was superimposed over the Village of Springbank.

Para Hills / Para Hills East / Para Hills West / Para Vista
The Little Para waterway and the suburbs of Para Hills and Para Vista are derived from Pari, the Aboriginal word in the Kaurna language for water or river.

Paracombe
The boundaries of the locality were created in October 2001 for the long established name. It is of Aboriginal origin.

Parafield / Parafield Gardens
The name was taken from the Parafield Aerodrome (opened 1929), which was adopted from Parafield Government Farm. It in term was taken from the Aboriginal word 'para', meaning 'river'. The suburb of Parafield was created by the SA Housing Trust in 1957; the suburb of Parafield Gardens was created two years later by Dayspring Development Co. Ltd.

Paradise
The name comes from a property in England owned by an early settler. In 1850, a Joseph Brennan added a room to the front of his cottage on the Torrens at Little Paradise, and applied for a license to sell wines, spirits and ales. Brennan was granted the license and named his new hotel, The Paradise Bridge Hotel, in anticipation of the new bridge that was being built over the Torrens nearby.

Paralowie
Originally a private subdivision. The name is of Aboriginal origin - "para" meaning river, and "lowie" meaning water. It was first recorded as the name of a very old farmhouse in the vicinity. Previously it was part of the suburbs of Bolivar and Salisbury North. Settlement of the area dates from the late 1800s, with land used predominantly for market gardens and farms. Significant development did not occur until the post World War II years. Rapid growth occurred from the 1980s through to the mid 1990s. The population increased marginally between 2001 and 2006, a result of new dwellings being added to the area.


Park Holme

Park Holme
The name is believed to have been used by the locality's developers, Messrs Alexander H McCormack, agent, William Morrow, tailor, and Kossuth W Duncan, miller, when it was subdivided in 1913. The name is in common use in England and means 'park near the river'.

Parkside
This suburb was created by Charles Chamberlain (c1800-77) around 1855. It is believed the name has no significance other than being an appropriately descriptive name by which to sell the subdivision.

Pasadena
Parts of Pasadena were originally known as Goodwood Road Estate Extension, Centennial Park, Quinton Hill, and the property known as "Sarnia". The suburb was possibly named after Pasadena in California, USA.

Payneham / Payneham South
Named honours Samuel Payne who was one of the original 437 subscribers to the South Australia Company, which was formed in England in 1835. On his arrival in Adelaide in April 1838 with his wife and four children, Samuel Payne learned that one of his allotments was a 'country section' located about 5 kilometres north-east of Adelaide. During the early years of settlement, activity revolved around the land. Market gardens were quickly established on the rich alluvial soil by the River Torrens and Third Creek, and farmers grew wheat and hay in areas that were more remote from a regular water supply. The village of Payneham developed at the junction of what later became the intersection of Payneham Road, Portrush Road and Lower North East.


New arrivals at the Finsbury Migrant Hostel, Pennington, 1954

Pennington
The name was used as that of the subdivision of land by Captain Alfred Hodgeman in 1909. It is named after the maiden name of his wife, Helen Pennington. a number of streets in the subdivision recall other family members. The name occurs in England as a surname, reffing to people from a locality of that name, and as a locality name, presumably a place where the Romans collected taxes or imposts of a penny from the locals.

Peterhead
The name is derived from the Scottish birthplace of William Diverall (c1833-1913), a land broker of Port Adelaide who subdivided the land in the locality in August 1875. In early Scottish history the name is recorded as petri-promontorium, meaning 'rocky headland'. By 1595 it had been corrupted to peterpolle.

Piccadilly
The name is said to have been given in jest by a servant or younger member of a pioneer family because it was so dissimilar to the suburb of London of that name. What seems likely is that the name was suggested by the local Aboriginal name, Picoddla, which referred to the ridge of hills to the east of Mount Lofty. This name was tried up with local Kaurna Aboriginal mythology about the giant mythical created, the WEano, which, roughly translated, means 'place of the eyebrow'.

Playford
The name of the City recognises the role that Sir Thomas Playford had in the development of the area. Playford was State Premier between 1938-1965. During this time he was largely responsible for the industrialisation of South Australia. Although the City of Playford was only formed in 1997 through the amalgamation, the City contains the history and culture of over one hundred and fifty years. Munno Para was established in 1853 and Elizabeth in 1955.

Plympton / Plympton Park
Henry Mooring Boswarna and John Bentham Neales subdivided what is now Plympton in October 1838 and called their new village Plympton. It is believed Boswarna named it after his native town in Devon, which was so named because of its situation on the River Plym (right). Plym is an Old English name for the plum tree, thus Plypton literally means town of or near plum trees.

Pooraka
The name is of local Aboriginal origin, meaning 'dry creek'. 2,200 acres of land here straddling both sides of Dry Creek were purchased by Captain Bagot in July 1840 for Sir Montague L. Chapman. When subdivided, they were known first as Montague Farms, and later as Montague Village.

Port Adelaide
See Adelaide.

Port Noarlunga
Port Noarlunga was originally a government town surveyed in November 1856, but is now a suburb of Adelaide. Noarlunga is also the name of a Hundred. The township was originally settled as a port for the produce from the proposed market town of Noarlunga a few kilometres upstream. The Onkaparinga River mouth proved unsuitable to coastal ketches, so produce was barged down river to the sandhills and then taken by horse drawn rail trucks to the jetty.

Prospect
The land here was granted to John Bradford (c1794-1868) in July 1838, who named it thus 'because of its beautiful prospect, being located on the Adelaide Plains and being separated from North Adelaide by The Parklands, beautifully timbered with gum trees, wattles etc'.

Queenstown
In July 1848, land at this locality was first subdivided and sold under the name of Queen's Town by Henry Simposon & Co. of Port Adelaide for the South Australian Banking Company. The estate of 209 allotments is believed to have been named in honour of Queen Victoria. The name was also applied to the sale of land in the Hundred of Lacepede by James Cooke in 1882, but the plan was endorsed 'not to be used'.

Redwood Park
The name was used as that of a number of subdivisions when the land was first sold for housing by Realty Building Co. ltd. in 1964. The reason for the choice of name is not known.


Regents Park, London

Regency Park
This subdivision took its name from Regency Road, which was adopted for a number of existing roads in the area in 1954 on the occasion of the visit to south Australia Queen Elizabeth II. The suburb was created on the site of the Islington Sewage Farm. The name recalls Regent's Park in London, which is located on what was formerly known as Marylebone Park. It had been Crown property for many centuries and was leased to the Dukes of Portland as a hunting ground. Regent's Park was first opened to the general public in 1845.

Renown Park
This suburb was created in 1920 by the executors of the estate of John McQuillan. The name was chosen following the visit of the Prince of Wales in HMS Renown.

Reynella
Recalls John Reynell wwho as born in Devonshire England in 1809. In 1838 he arrived in South Australia on board the Surrey. By 29 July 1840, John Reynell had moved from this place to Reynella Farm. Here he set up a dairy and used the place as a base for other pastoral enterprises through the southern Mount Lofty Ranges. Moreover, at his farm he sowed potatoes and cereal crops, but was best known for his pursuit of wine making. In 1841, Reynell planted out the first portion of his vineyard with cuttings sourced from Van Diemen's Land (now Tasmania). This is recorded as South Australia's first vineyard and first production of wine. The town of Reynella was subdivided for sale in 1854.

Richmond / East Richmond
Charles Gooch applied the name to a farm in 1839. On 4 April 1839, Robert Fletcher Bradshaw obtained the land grant of Section 94, Hundred of Adelaide, and in 1842 he laid out portion of it in one-acre allotments, calling it 'The Village of Richmond'. The name is believed to originate in London, where it is a suburb of London. Why Gooch used the name is not known. Gooch was born at Benacre Hall, Suffolk, England, in 1798.

Ridleyton
Originally past of a grant to Osmond Giles in March 1839 who later transferred title of it to John Ridley of Hindmarsh Town for £275. A miller who had become famous as the inventor of the first reaping machine, Ridley subdivided the land in 1873 under the name of Ridleyton.

Rose Park
The subdivision was laid out by the South Australia Company in 1878. The name honours Sir John Rose (right) who was chairman of the company for fourteen years in the latter half of the 19th century. The name Prescott was also suggested but turned down, it being the name of the first white settler on the land.

Rosewater
Believed to be the name of a property their owned by pioneer settler Phillip Levi, who gave the name to offset the smell of stagnant water from a nearby swamp.

Rosslyn Park
The area was owned by Cornishman John Lord who at some stage sold off some of his property to the Penfolf family to cover gambling debts. They planted a vineyard on it. A subsequent owner of the now reduced property, Alfred Lord, used the land to spell racehourses, and ione of these horses was named Miss Rosslyn. After Miss Rosslyn won the Great Steeple at Oakbank around 1920, the popularity and fame of the horse led to the property on which she was raised to become known as Rosslyn's Park. The name Rosslyn was, however, in use as early as 1877 and it probably has its origins in one of the original owners, all of whom were Scotsmen.

Rostrevor
The name is taken from a mansion built on his property by Ross Thompson Reid, a migrant from Newry, Ireland, who arrived in South Australia in 1839, age six. He became extremely wealthy and part of that wealth was invested in his home, which he named Rosstevor Hall either after Rostrevor, a seaside resort in County Down, Ireland (right), or after the combination of the name of the daughter of Sir Marmaduke Whitchurch, Rose, with that of her husband, Trevor, Viscount Dungannon, the family seat of Iveagh Castle which was inevitably called Rostrevor. The land was subdivided by a subsequent owner in 1915.

Royal Park
William Shierlaw and C.H. Matters subdivided the land here in 1881 under this fanciful name to draw attention away from the fact that previously, it had been occupied by pig farms and slaughter houses.

Roysten Park
This suburb was laid out and put up for sale in 1909 by the South Australian Company. The name was given by Stephen Parsons, the land agent who subdivided the land. His wife went to school in Roysten in Yorkshire, England. It takes its name from a cross erected in the highway by Lady Roysia, Countess of Norfolk.

Salisbury / Salisury Downs / Salisbury East / Salisbury Heights / Salisury Plain / Salisbury South
In 1839, three years after the founding of South Australia, a Scot named John Harvey migrated to the colony. In 1847, he purchased land along the Little Para River for the purposes of establishing a township. In 1848, Harvey began selling allotments for the township of Salisbury, named after Salisbury, England near his wife's hometown. Many of Salisbury's streets are named after John and his family. By 1881, the Salisbury Township's population was between 400 and 500. The area's main crops were oranges, wheat, hay and dairy produce.

Salisbury North as a suburb had its beginnings as pastoral land. In 1847, a Scottish migrant, John Harvey, purchased 172 acres of land at Para Plains, north of the Adelaide township. He named his purchase Salisbury, after Salisbury, England near his wife's home town. While much of his land was later divided and sold, the Salisbury North area remained farmland until 1949, when the South Australian Housing Trust embarked on a major residential development. This was to provide housing for newly arrived migrants from the United Kingdom and the workers of the Long Range Weapons Establishment and their families in nearby Penfield.

Scott Creek
Surveyor Charles Harriss caused a few ripples with his naming policies - not least because he delved into ancient history and mythology to come with names like Hadrian Creek and Jupiter Creek. Land used by two brothers named Scott as a sheep run was given the name Scott Bottom by local residents, and the adjacent waterway was consequently christened Scott Creek by Harrises. In later years this drew a furious response from a descendant of a man named William Rowe Hill; he had been the first settler in the district and his name should therefore have been perpetuated.

Seacliff / Seacliff Park
The name Seacliff was used by William A. Parsons for the sale of land here, first in 1917, and later in subsequent subdivisions. The name is descriptive.


Seacombe, Cheshire, England

Seacombe / Seacombe Gardens / Seacombe Heights
Edward Stephens, the first manager of the South Australia Company, bought 1,110 acres of land her for himself in 1837 and named his property Seacombe Villa, an Old English term meaning 'steep valley by the sea'. The first suburb to bear the name was Seacombe Park, which was subdivided by Thomas Freebairn in 1920. The name recalls Stephens' birthplace in Cheshire, England.

Seaton
Seaton was subdivided by the Home, Land and Mortgage Co. in 1883. The venture failed and most of the land was taken up by the Royal Adelaide Golf Club. The name is believed to have been given by an early landowner, Clifford Tate, after Seaton in Devon, England.

Seaview Downs
Seaview Estate was laid out in 1913 by Thomas Gilbertson. In 1923, Seaview Downs subdivided by Thomas Landsdowne Brown. It is believed the descriptive name was first used in marketing the subdivisions.

Sefton Park / Sefton Estate
The land now occupied by Sefton Park was taken up by Samuel Dening Glyde, grain merchant and miller, in 1883. It is not known who gave the subdivision its name or where it originated, except that it is the name of a town in Lancashire, England. Derived from the old Norman 'sef', which is a course grass which grows on swampy ground, and 'ton', meaning 'place of'.

Semaphore / Semaphore Park / Semaphore South
The name is derived from the fact that the locality was first used as a signal station and landing place for craft visiting the young colony. Semaphore flags are signalling devices to guide ships to safe shelter. On Col. light's first maps and plans, the signal station was located on Point Malcolm immediately west of the old Port. The original Semaphore Hotel was the first to use the name to refer to anything but the signal station and to establish the name of the locality. The first subdivision of land at Semaphore took place in April 1864. Semaphore Park was originally subdivided under the name New Liverpool, then Mellor Park.

Sheidow Park
Believed to be named after early setters, the Sheidow Family. The name was adopted in 1958.

Skye
The land here was marked as Syke by Skye Estates Pty Ltd in 1958. The name has its origins in Scotland, being an island shaped like a wing. Sgaith is Gaelic for 'wing'.

Smithfield
Recalls J.Smith, an early landowner who built the Smithfield Hotel in the 1850s. A proposal to add a portion of Smithfield to Craigmore in 1989 was not approved by Geographical Names Board.

Somerton Park
James Walsh and his family took up land here in 1854. They were recent arrivals from Somerton in County Dublin, Ireland.

Springfield
Springfield, Strathpey, Delamere, Coreega, and "Carrick Hill" are properties all established in what has evolved into today's suburb. The springs which seeped out of the Mitcham foothills are thought to have inspired the name of the mansion, construction of which was commenced by Charles Burton Newenham between 1842 and 1853. Subsequently the name Springfield was adopted for the whole area.

St. Agnes
The suburb of St Agnes takes its name from the vineyard established on part of section 5485 by Dr William Angove (right) in 1889. Angove named the vineyard St Agnes sometime prior to 1897 - the 1897 St Agnes Claret was the first wine identified by the St Agnes name. Two possible reasons for choosing St Agnes as the vineyard's name have been put forward. One is that the vineyard was named after a mining village called St Agnes which was near Camborne, William Angove's birthplace in Cornwall. The other is that the name was chosen because of its association with Saint Agnes, the patron saint of purity - many South Australian wine makers were using the names of saints on their labels at the end of the nineteenth century.
Dr Angove built cellars at St Agnes in 1905 and a distillery in 1907.

St Georges
The suburb was laid out in 1918 by W.J.a. Barton, land agent for Joseph Cochrane, William M Butler and Frederick G Jones, farmers. The name was selected as the result of a competition to name the subdivision.


The main street of St Kilda in the Outer Hebrides

St Kilda
What was originally a seaside town was named by John Harvey, the founder of nearby Salisbury, as it reminded him of St Kilda in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland with its similar abundance of birdlife. St Kilda is an internationally recognised bird watching area with over 100 species of birds feeding in and around the mudflats, salt Lagoons, mangroves and seagrass beds. The suburb was originally three low lying islands that were covered in shell grit and saltbush and surrounded by mangrove and samphire swamps. Fishermen had established huts on the islands by 1865 and by 1873 there were 13 huts and a boathouse.

St Marys
The name St Marys was coined by John Wickham Daw, who took up the land in 1838 and in 1841 donated a portion for the construction of an Anglican Church known as St Marys-on-the-Sturt.

St Morris
Charles Thomas Saint (c1839-77) married Frances Elizabeth Morris in 1863. Following Saint's death, Mrs Morris married Henry Woodcock. When he subdivided his property in 1913, he used his wife's maiden and maiden married names for the new estate.

St Peters
After European settlement in 1838, the St Peters area became the location of an experimental farm, dairies, a flour mill, orchards, nurseries and potteries, with a sand and gravel industry on the river bank. The Corporation of the Town of St Peters was proclaimed on the 1st August 1883 by the Governor of South Australia, Sir William Robinson. Mr Joseph Bertram was appointed the first Mayor. Catherine Helen Spence, novelist, journalist and political reformer, was one of the area's most notable residents. She lived in the area from 1870 to 1899.


Stepney Green, England

Stepney
The village of Stepney was named by its creator, George Muller, who had grown up in Stepney, England. He first advertised lots adjoining his Maisd and Magpie Hotel in 1850. The name, derived from the Anglo-Saxon 'stebenhithe', meaning the stump of a tree, originated as the name of the stumps of trees to which ships were moored.

Stirling
The town of Stirling was born at the hands of land speculator Peter Prankerd, who was also involved with sections around Callington and Kanmantoo - the silver and copper country - and many other areas. His survey for Stirling took place in 1854, a short way east of the present town centre. Prankerd was a friend of Edward Stirling and named the new township in his honour. The pastoralist Edward Stirling - best known for his partnership with Sir Thomas Elder - settled near Strathalbyn. During his years there he was also, for a time, a member of the Legislative Council.

Stonyfell
Derived from Stonyfell, a bluestone cottage erected by Charles Edlin in 1838. Meaning 'stony hill', the property was thus named as it was covered in large stones from which many of Adelaide's stone buildings would later be constructed.

Sturt
Recalls South Australia's greatest explorer, Charles Sturt of the 39th Regiment of the British Army, who came to New South Wales in 1827. The village of Sturt was laid out by another explorer, Edward John Eyre, into 41 allotments in 1842 as the 96th Regiment, to which he had connections, was quartered there. The price of each allotment was set at £8 an acre with purchasers having the right of buying for every allotment, five acres of land for cultivation in the alluvial flats, at £2 an acre.

Summerton
Summertown was originally advertised as an ideal 'summer town' from which to escape the heat of Adelaide. The town can be traced back to the 1840s with settlers who scaled the steeply-angled slopes of Green Hill to occupy the fertile high-level valleys. The laying out of the town did not occur until the 1870s (Summertown) and 1880s (Uraidla), but that was to some extent a formal acknowledgement of existing settlement.

Surrey Farm
Proclaimed in October 1977, this suburb takes its name from a farm established by Richard Smith, who came to South Australia in 1839. smith was born in southwark, Surrey, England.

Taperoo
A word of Aboriginal origin, meaning opossum skin. These skins were used on drums at corroborees. The suburb was laid out in 1925 by Wilkinson Watkinson.

Tea Tree Gully
The name Tea Tree Gully was originally given to the steep gully entering the northeast face of the Adelaide Hills, where the native 'tea-tree' grew. It was later applied to the township of Steventon, which was located at the entrance of the gully in around 1845. The name was then extended to include the local range of hills. Tea Tree Gully was first settled as early as 1837 by stockholders who had found the soil rich, fertile and serviced by numerous springs of constantly flowing water. However, this early settlement of the district, or squatting as it was more commonly called, was not formally acknowledged until 1839 when the land was surveyed, delineated into sections and offered for sale. The early settlers were predominantly agricultural folk who transformed the land of the district into a patchwork of orchards, paddocks and fields of cereal crops.

Tennyson
The town of Tennyson was surveyed in 1902 by George McCoy, but later redesigned and resurveyed by Henry Jacob two years later prior to lots going on sale. It was named after Rt Hon. Hallam Tennyson, Baron Tennyson (right), Governor of South Australia, 1899 to 1902.

Teringie / Teringie Heights
Originally a private subdivision. The name was approved in 1978 by the Geographical Names Board in lieu of the original proposal of Teringie Heights following the stated preference of the local council. The name is of Aboriginal origin.

The Levels
The name is taken from an old homestead which still stands and is hertitage listed. The estate was laid out by James Hurtle Morphett in 1909 and is now included in the suburbs of Wingfield, Dry Creek, Parafield, The Levels, Green Fields, Paroka and Cross Keys.


St Peters Church, Theberton, England

Thebarton
Colonel Light was born at Kuala Kedah (Malaya) on 27 April, 1786. His early years were spent in Theberton, Suffolk, England, from which the name Thebarton was derived.

Thorngate
Named after the original grantee, John Battey Thorngate, who arrived from Gosport, Hampshire, England, in 1840. The suburb was created in 1914 when G and W.E. Churcher subdivided the land into 59 allotments.

Toorak Gardens
Laid out by the South Australian Company in 1909. Marketed as a high class Garden Suburb, there are two possible explanations for its name. It could have been named after the classy Melbourne suburb, or it may have been taken from an Aboriginal word already in use in the area - 'torrak' - which means 'tea-tree springs'.

Torrens Island
Named after Robert Richard Torrens (1814-1884), the third Premier of South Australia and a pioneer and author of simplified system of transferring land. Born in Cork, Ireland, he came to Australia in 1839. In February 1841 he was collector of customs at Adelaide. In enlarged legislative council elected in July 1851, Torrens was one of the four official nominees nominated by the governor. When responsible government commenced in October 1856, Torrens became treasurer in the ministry of Finniss. He was elected as one of the members of the House of Assembly for the city of Adelaide in the new parliament, and on 1st September 1857 became premier, but his government lasted less than a month. In December 1857 he championed the Real Property Act of 1858 (for the transfer of real property) through the assembly, and the system became known as the Torrens title. The system transferred property by registration of title, instead of by deeds, and it has since been widely adopted throughout the world.

Torrens Park / Torrensville
Parts of Torrens Park were originally known as Glenburnie, Blytheswoodville, Panchito Park, Blythwood Estate, West Mitcham, and included "Torrens Park Estate". Part of today's suburb was laid out in 1917 from the estate of T. Barr-Smith. The area was named after Robert Richard Torrens who established the Torrens Park Estate, and introduced the Real Property Act into the South Australian Parliament.

Tranmere
The name was first used for an early farm in the area owned by David Wylie, who took possession in 1842. Whylie was born in Tranmere in Liverpool, England. The name was first applied to the Tranmere Park Estate subdivision by A.S. Jackman and C.H. Treloar in 1914.

Trinity Gardens
The land here was granted as Glebe (church) land to Osmond Gilles, Charles Mann and James Hurtle Fisher in March 1840 as trustees of the Holy Trinity Church. In 1920 the church bought the land, subdivided it and sold it under the name Trinity Gardens. The name occurs in Scotland where Trinity lodge was built in 1873 on lands of Trinity House, Leith, which was a house for seamen.

Trott Park
The name of a subdivision sold by Australian Mercentile & Finance Co Ltd in 1974. The name refers to James Trott, who bought four allotments in the area in 1890.


Tusmore Park, Oxfordshire, England

Tusmore
The locality takes its name from the birthplace in Oxfordshire, England, of an early settler, William Rogers. He purchased land east of adelaide in 1839. The first subdivision to bear the name was Tusmore Park in 1911. the name, of Old English origin, is derived from 'prys-mere', meaning 'lake haunted by a demon'.

Uleybury
The name, forist proposed in December 1972, is a combination of two words, being Uley - after Garlick's home in Gloucestershire, England; and bury- a large hill overlooking the village of uley in england. Uleybury is located in the City of Playford local government area, just north of One Tree Hill along Gawler-One Tree Hill Road.

Underdale
The subdivision was created by John Symonds Williams in 1853. Though no origin of the name is recorded, it is likely that it is meant to be semi descriptive, being a valley under or near Adelaide. In 1853 it was common to call a locality close to another as being 'under'.

Unley / Unley Park
In December 1835, Thomas Whistler bought a number of plots of land here, only to subdivide and re-sell them a short time later. He sold the land under the name of the Village of Unley or Undley (right). The latter seems the most likely as Whistler was from Lakenheath in Suffolk, England. He used a number of Suffolk names in his other subdivisions, therefore it is safe to say that Unley is more correctly spelt Undley and is named after a hamlet in the parish of Middenhall.

Upper Sturt
The suburb was named after the Sturt River, which had in 1832 been named after Captain Charles Sturt, following its discovery by his colleague and fellow European explorer, Captain C Barker.

Uraidla
Uraidla got its name from Aboriginal associations, while nearby Summertown was originally advertised as an ideal 'summer town' from which to escape the heat of Adelaide.


Haugh of Urr, Scotland

Urrbrae
Parts were originally known as Myrtle Bank, Urrbrae Park, and the area also included the properties Birksgat", Claremont and Alverstock. Today's suburb was named by Robert MacGeorge after his Scottish home of Urr, and the word Brae (meaning the side of a hill). Urbrae House was the first home in Adelaide to have electricity.

Vale Park
Taken from the name of an original farm property, Vale House, the owner of which was Philip Levi. He had arrived in South Australia from Surrey, England, in 1838 and developed a prosperous business, Philip Lei & Co., in Adelaide. In November 1947 the last surviving member of Levi's family, Constance Levi, sold part of the property to developers Walkerville Corporation for use as a public park which still bears the family name.

Valley View
A descriptive name used by Pleasant Valley Sales to markets blocks of land here in 1960.

Walkerville
The first use of the name 'Walker' in this locality was the hotel, Walker's Arms Hotel, in the late 1830s. Captain John Walker was instrumental in organising local landowners to farm a village here in which 100 blocks were surveyed and sold.


Yatala Labour Prison

Walkley Heights
Walkley Heights is a newly-built residential subdivision 15 km north of Adelaide. The suburb is located on land formerly comprising the prison farm for Yatala Labour Prison, and includes fifty-five hectares of land formerly owned by R. M. Williams which was compulsorily acquired during the time of former State Premier Sir Thomas Playford. The suburb ( and one adjacent main road ) is named after John Walkley, an early pioneer in South Australia.

Warradale
When the Waradale Post Office opened in December 1917 at the Oaklands Railway Station, confusion reigned. When establishing the post office, the postal authorities refused to use the railway station's name, instead suggesting Warradale, derived from Warracowie, the name of a postal official's home. Ashmore and Warraparinga were both suggested but Warradale was setled upon by the toss of a coin. The prefix 'warra' refers to height.


First Falls, Waterfall Gully

Waterfall Gully
The boundaries of this locality were established in 1941 by consensus between Nomenclature Committee, the City of Burnside and other government agencies. Portions were excluded and added to Beaumont and Burnside in 1970. For the most part, the suburb encompasses one long gully with First Creek at its centre and Waterfall Gully Road running adjacent to the creek. At the southern end of the gully is First Falls, the waterfall for which the suburb was named.

Waterloo Corner
Waterloo Corner is a rural/urban suburb approximately 22 kilometres north of Adelaide, the capital city of South Australia. Most of the land is used for agricultural purposes, including wheat, olives, grapes and tomatoes. The origin of the name is unknown.

Wattle Park
A desrcriptive name selected by subdividers Simpson Newland and J.H. Luxmoore in 1882. The name is thought to have been adopted from Wattle Grove, the name of a property built on Kensington Road by William Robert Cooke in 1850.

Wayville
Named after the Way family. Sir Samuel J. Way (1876-1916) was a Chief Justice of South Australia. Rev James Way, his father, conducted Way College in the district. Born in Devon, England, in 1804, he came to South Australia in 1850.

Welland
The name was given to a subdivision established and sold by william B. Stuckey, an insuarance agent of Victoria and Catherine H. Fisher, in 1907. Whilst the connection is not known, it is believed the name is taken from a town in Worcestershire, England.

West Beach
Originally a private subdivision. The name was adopted as a suburb name within the town of Henley & Grange in 1945 following consensus between council, nomenclature committee and other government agencies. Its name is descriptive of its location. West Beach is in both the City of Charles Sturt and the City of West Torrens. Its white sands on the eastern shore of Gulf Saint Vincent and boating lakes are notable features.

West Lakes
A private subdivision, created by dredging the upper reaches of the Port River to create suburban land, a lake and Delfin Island. The descriptive name was established in 1969.

Westbourne Park
The suburb was named after Westbourne, a village in Sussex, England, and was laid out in 1881. It was originally known as Cottonville and Unley Park.


Windsor Castle Gardens, England

Windsor Gardens
This English name applied to three subdivisions, one country and two suburban. The name was given to the suburban localities by Nathaniel Hailes because of his love for the countryside around Windsor, England. Windsor Gardens was created with the subdivision of land by Edward C. Mills in 1929.

Wingfield
The suburb was surveyed by A. King and E.B. Jones in 1877. The name honours R.W. Wingfield, clerk of the Executive Council, who proclaimed the locality on 26th April 1877.

Woodcroft
Woodcroft is a metropolitan suburb located 20 km south of the Central Business District of Adelaide. Originally farming land and vineyards, the region was first settled in 1869 by Robert Wright and his wife Mary, who built a small limestone and mud dwelling on 20 acres of land 3 km east of John Reynell's settlement at Reynella. In 1896 vigneron Mostyn Owen established his Mount Hurtle winery and built a homestead called Woodcroft Farm, from which the suburb took its name.

Woodforde
This is disagreement as to how this locality was named. Some sources say that it is named after Dr John Woodforde (right), who arrived with Col. Light and later became City Coroner. Others suggest it was named by its first owner, John Hallett (but without the 'e' on the end), after his birthplace in Essex, England. This name first appeared in England in 1225 aqs 'wudeforde', meaning 'ford (river crossing) by the wood'. The village of Woodforde was laid out by Captain John Finlay Duff in 1850 and it was in all probability he who added the 'e' to change its name to Woodforde.

Woodville / Woodville Gardens / Woodville North / Woodville Park / Woodville South / Woodville West
The land covered by these suburbs was taken up by a number of early settlers in 1841. The first record of the use ofv the name Woodville was in 1849 when the first subdivision and sale of land took place by Emanuel and Judah Moss Solomon as trustees for Captain Thomas Lipson. The town and its similarly named neighbours was no doubt named because of its leafy position and well timbered lands rather than after the town in Derbyshire, England.

Wynn Vale
Wynn Vale was named after the wine makers S. Wynn & Company. During the 1950's they operated vineyards on the 'Modbury Estate', which fronted what was then Yatala Vale Road. These vineyards were planted with mainly white grapes, Palomino and Pedro Ximinex, Riesling and Semillon and were used for making sherries and quality dry white wines.
In 1972 the government, under the leadership of Premier Donald Dunstan, established the South Australian Land Commission to acquire land for future building allotments. On the 17th of October 1974, 390 hectares of land in the region had been acquired by the S.A.L.C. Although a serious blow to local winemakers, the acquisition allowed housing development to eventuate, including the Golden Grove Development.

Yatala Vale
Yatala is the name applied by the Weira group of the Kaurna Aborigines to the area north of the Torrens, extending from Port Adelaide to Tea Tree Gully. Yatala literally means "water running by the side of a river". It was a favourite name with the authorities as far back as 1836 and was applied to a hundred, an electoral district, a government schooner, the labour prison and a paddle steamer.