Narrogin

A major rail junction, market town and agricultural centre on the main route from Perth to Albany.

Narrogin Heritage Trail

The excellent Narrogin Heritage Trail offers visitors two guided tours of the town and environs which start at the Old Court House Museum and encompass most of the old properties and buildings in the area.

The Old Courthouse, located on the corner of Egerton and Earl Streets, was originally built as a Government school in 1894. Designed by the prominent architect George Temple-Poole it remained a school until 1905 when it was converted into the local courthouse. It became the local branch of the Agricultural Bank between 1924–1945 but returned to a courthouse in 1970. It has been a museum since 1976 and contains extensive displays of local memorabilia which offer an insight into early life in the area.

The town centre, with its solid Town Hall and Library (both built in 1908) and Horderns Hotel (rebuilt after a fire in 1922) has a solidity and confidence which the smaller wheatbelt towns lack. The Heritage Trail makes much of the story of Nicholas 'Charlie' Bushalla, a Syrian who arrived in Western Australia in 1887, settled in Narrogin and during his lifetime managed to provide the town with a general store, hotels, a brewery (although the beer was apparently awful), a picture theatre, skating rink and cordial factory. He is a good example of the achievements which were possible for enterprising merchants in rural Western Australia around the turn of the century.


Dryandra Woodland Nature Reserve

Dryandra Woodland Nature Reserve (22 km north west): one of the best wildlife destinations in the South West. It has stands of mallet trees which were grown because the bark could be used in the tanning industry. At Barna Mia, an animal viewing enclosure for endangered marsupials, visitors can take a guided nocturnal tour, watching for bilbies, wallabies, bandicoots and woylies.


Yilliminning Rock

Yilliminning Rock (17 km east): climb to the top to enjoy panoramic views of the area. Watch for rock dragons who bask in the sun and scamper over the rock.

Heritage features: Albert Facey's Homestead; Old Court House Museum; Narrogin Town Hall (1908).


View Larger Map

Where is it?

206 km south east of Perth. The town of Narrogin is located on both sides of Narrogin Valley.


Brief history

Edward Hamersley took up the first pastoral and tillage lease of 5000 acres in 1853. The lease lapsed in 1858. Elijah Quartermaine took up and settled on 5000 acres in 1860. Another lease was taken up by William Shaddick in the early 1860s but the first resident settler was John Stephens.

A small settlement grew up around Narrogin Creek which became a stopping place on the Perth to Albany Road. It became a town after the Albany to Beverly Great Southern Railway was opened in 1886. Between 1905 and 1926 new railway lines were constructed to Collie, Wickepin, Kondinin, Dwarda and points beyond.

Narrogin remained a major rail centre until the late 1970's when competition from road transport saw a reduction in the railways workforce to less than a hand full in 1995.

The name is believed to be derived from Narroging pool, as recorded by explorer John Forrest. It is thought to either mean 'waterhole' or is the actual name of the pool.

Design by W3Layouts | Content © 2013 Phoenix Group Co. | Sales: phone 1300 753 517, email: sales@pleasureholidays.com.au