Yarloop is basically an historic timber town. Yarloop offers a rare
opportunity to experience what a turn of the century timber mill town
was actually like. So well preserved have been most of the buildings
associated with Millars operations that in 1984 the National Trust
classified the Yarloop mill town as a conservation area.
Yarloop Heritage Trail
Stroll along this 2.5km walk through the town centre and discover
the true heritage of Yarloop. The Heritage Trail concentrates entirely
on the mill town that the Millar brothers created. It starts at the
Replica Store which was built in 1987?88 as a reproduction of the
original store which was built in the 1890s on the same site. It then
moves along to the Mill Cottages in McDowell Street which date from the
1890s, passes the remnants of the Old Wooden Pub (now a private home)
which was Yarloop?s first pub and was built in 1903 and the Old Mill
Post Office (now a private home) which was built in 1898. In Johnston
Road it passes St Josephis Catholic Church (1906), the Mill Doctor's
Residence and Hospital in Barrington-Knight Road, then across to the
Mill Manager's Complex and the Single Men's Quarters which were built
by the Millars in the 1890s.
At the two ends of School Road there are the Mill Cottages and All
Saints Anglican Church, a simple timber building which was constructed
The circuit of the old mill town returns into Railway Parade to the
Mill Boarding House (1890s) which was used by executive staff and
visitors from Perth, the War Memorial (erected in 1922) and concludes
with the highlight of any visit to the old town - the Yarloop Mill
Workshops which operated from 1901-1978
Hoffman Mill Picnic and campsite, approximately 13kms east of Logue
Brook Dam Visit the site of this old timber milling town. Camping for
that perfect peaceful getaway. Visit the historic town of Yarloop
is a gem for lovers of all things rustic.
Lake Brockman is a fresh water recreational family attraction
created by the building of Logue Brook Dam in the Darling Scarp near
the town of Yarloop. It was opened in 1963.
The lake is a popular skiing/swimming dam with crystal clear water
for the family to enjoy. There are four camping areas within the Logue
Brook Dam zone. Only one of these is open all year round, the other
three are seasonal only, (open during peak periods as overflow).
Fishing and Marroning are a popular pastime (in season with license -
available from the Harvey Post Office). This dam is frequently
restocked with trout.
Named after Governor Stirling, the dam is set in natural bush land.
Construction of the Dam started in the 1940s to supplement the Harvey
Weir by channeling water through a gravitational system. There is a
large BBQ, picnic gazebo, parking and toilets. At the south side of the
Stirling Dam over the wall, a walk trail follows the dam overflow
course, approximately 500m circuit or 15 minutes. No fires, camping,
fishing or marroning permitted.
Location: 17km east of Harvey. Turn onto Weir Road from the South Western Highway (the last 7 km of the road is unsealed).
Yarloop Gazebo & Statues
Yarloop Gazebo & Statues are silhouettes of various landmarks
depicting the history of Yarloop has been included in the design of
this unique wooden gazebo.
View Larger Map
Where is it?
Yarloop is located 125 km south of Perth on the South Western
Highway and is serviced daily by the Australind train from Perth and
Yarloop Steam Workshops Museum
Step back in time at the unique Yarloop Steam Workshops. The
workshops were established in the early 1900s to service the needs of
timber mills located throughout the South West forests. Be fascinated
by the saw doctor’s shop, steam locomotives and steam generators,
the vast and haunting main workshop and the treasure trove that is the
patternmaker’s shop. A craft shop and café are located on
site. Guided tours on steam days. Bookings essential for tours any
other day. The Yarloop Steam Workshops is also part of the Working Life
Railway Parade/Barrington-Knight Road, Yarloop. Ph (08) 9733 5368. Entry Fees apply.
History of Yarloop
Yarloop was established in the late 1800s as a timber milling town.
By the early 1900s, Millers Timber and Trading Company (now Sotico)
virtually owned the town as the major local employer and landowner. The
company set up engineering workshops to service the needs of logging
mill towns in the surrounding forests. At the town’s peak, the
workshops employed approximately 500 men. Sotico is now a very modern
timber mill and the old historic engineering workshops that spanned the
steam and horse-drawn era are being restored. Conducted tours of both
places are available by appointment.
Yarloop has been registered as a conservation area and is deemed a
historic precinct by the local council. Stroll through streets lined
with historic timber workers’ cottages and enjoy the close-knit
Some remains of buildings and gardens are still visible. Follow one
of the bushwalk trails through the forest to discover more about this
beautiful area or just sit and admire the crystal clear creek. Visit
the secret home of the rare noisy scrub bird. Spend a few days or a few
hours exploring this old settlement.
The name Yarloop is said to have originated from the words "yard
loop"; the rail loop into the timber yard there. However, the name is
more likely Aboriginal in origin (most likely from the local Bindjareb
Noongar people). Yalup Brook is situated only about 5 km north of
Yarloop and there is similarity in pronunciation of the word and the
early spelling variations of the siding (Yailoup and Yarloup) support
it being Aboriginal.